Cauliflower Soup with Roasted Garlic


3563177660_503d1789e7

So, once again I found myself with three heads of cauliflower taking up too much space in my fridge.  I am so uninspired by cauliflower – and I refuse to smother it in cheese and cream which means there are very few recipes out there that I find acceptable.  So, faced with the choice of either tossing the cauliflower or trying to make something with it, I decided to go for a soup and just see what I could come up with.  It ended up being surprisingly good – and the cauliflower flavor mellowed a lot – which I was happy about.

Cauliflower Soup with Roasted Garlic

  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 4 stalks celery, sliced
  • 5-6 chicken or vegetable stock cubes (I like using organic, the ones that come in the bigger cubes, because they’re softer and seem to be less salty)
  • 4-5 potatoes, chopped
  • 2 heads cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 1 head broccoli, cut into florets
  • 1 large carrot, chopped
  • 5-10 cloves roasted garlic
  • fresh ground pepper
  • cream (optional)
  • chopped chives, for garnish

In a large stock pot heat a bit of olive oil and add the onions, leeks, and celery.  Sauté over medium heat until mixture begins to soften.

3563169382_24d59d3615

Once mixture begins to soften and a bit of liquid accumulates in pot, add the stock cubes and stir into the mixture until they dissolve.  Meanwhile, heat a kettle of water until it boils.  When I’m using stock cubes I like to dissolve them into the onions and leeks and then add boiling water once everything has softened so that the cooking process is not interrupted with the addition of a bunch of cold water.  I don’t really know if it makes any difference what-so-ever, but it’s how I like to do it.  So, once the onions and leeks are very soft and the stock cubes have dissolved, add 5-8 cups of water.  The amount of water you add will depend upon the strength of the stock cubes.  I find it’s better to add less water than I think I need and just keep topping up as I cook and the flavors become more apparent.

Once broth reaches a simmer, add the cauliflower, potatoes, and carrot.  

3563176234_d7317c64b4

Bring to a boil and simmer until all veggies are soft.  Check broth and adjust to taste.  If it’s too weak it is fine to throw in another stock cube and just let it dissolve.  Remove from heat.  Add 5-10 cloves of roasted garlic.  This may sound like a lot, but the flavor is so mellow that you really just get a hint of it in the soup.  I’m using the some of the cloves I roasted with the tomatoes.  This is what they look like once they’re peeled:

3562361743_7b0b6f403e

Using a submersion blender, blend until smooth.  The texture here is really velvety!  If desired, add a couple tablespoons of cream to finish.  This isn’t necessary but I found that it really helped the flavor develop.  

To serve, ladle into bowls, stir through a teaspoon of cream and top with chopped chives and freshly ground pepper.

3562369917_78eb03092c

While I was cooking, Scotty was snapping pictures and I thought I’d share a couple with you so you can see what happens when I’m at work:

3562359721_5b0b408d4d

3563171770_3783ea13eb

3563170122_4615f8b2fd

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Edinburgh, Food, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cauliflower Soup with Roasted Garlic

  1. Katie says:

    Oooo yum! I am not a big cauliflower eater but this looks tasty. And you look lovely!

  2. Bethy J says:

    I can’t wait to try this soup friend! You look beautiful – wish I looked that great while cooking:) Miss you!

  3. Leah Turchin says:

    Finally! A picture of your gorgeous self! I want to see more of those! AND of course the food looks great too! :)

Leave a Reply

