The Hurt Locker


The Hurt Locker

The Hurt Locker

On friday night I went with a couple of friends to see The Hurt Locker directed by Kathryn Bigelow at the Film Festival.  Now a gritty movie about war isn’t the usual choice for a group of three girls, but I was intrigued by the film and I’d won two tickets!  Yay!  As part of the “Directors’ Showcase” I thought it would probably be a good film and the description was intriguing.  From the Film Festival Website:

“Kathryn Bigelow (Break Point, Near Dark, Strange Days) take on yet another male-dominated genre, the war film, embedding us deep within post-conflict Iraq with the phony-toughs and crazy-braves of a US Army bomb disposal unit.  Former bomb squad-embedded journalist Mark Boal’s script, Barry Achroyd’s cinematography and Bigelow’s flair for sheer physicality combine to great effect giving the film a rare, street-level veracity.  And edge-of-y0ur-seat thriller, and a fascinating insight into men at war and professionals at work.”

Well I was blown away.  Walking back with my friends and another friend we ran into at the theatre, I think we were all a bit shellshocked.  This is by far the best war film I’ve seen – in my mind out-rating war epics like Saving Private Ryan.  In many ways it feels like a documentary because it is so gritty and real-feeling.  Bigelow manages to avoid the emotional manipulation and trite political statements that surround so many war films.  Her restraint in not making a political showcase out of a movie based in Iraq is admirable.  She lets the story of these three soldiers tell itself and the script is excellent.  I never once felt emotionally manipulated which is a remarkable feat in a movie that has many moving scenes.  I would highly recommend going to see this but will insert a word of caution – it is a war film so it should go without saying that it is very violent and the language is harsh.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Edinburgh Int Film Festival, Entertainment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Hurt Locker

  1. Sol says:

    I want to see this, thanks for the suggestion, sounds good.

Leave a Reply

