“There will be no miracles here”


Last April I wrote about the great lawn in front of the Dean Gallery and I’ve since been able to enjoy it a few times – those couple days where the sun was out and it was warm enough to sit outside.  Around Christmas a new “art” installation was placed on the lawn and you can see it here:

There Will Be No Miracles Here

Now I really don’t like the hopelessness of this statement.  It kinda bugs me that in the midst of all this beauty there is a statement that is so stark and devoid of joy.  I think that the very beauty of the setting the sign inhabits is miraculous – the new life sprouting forth each spring is miraculous, the clouds floating overhead – everything is a little miracle of beauty.  Regardless, Saturday was an absolutely gorgeous day.  Warm, even hot, sunny, clear skies, perfect.  So I spent several hours on the lawn at the Dean Gallery.  After three hours I was sufficiently sunburned (!) to retreat inside but it was wonderful to read my book in the sun, feel sweat beading up at the base of my neck, and unclench all those muscles that have been braced against the cold for so long.  To me that’s a little miracle and I’ll gladly take it.  That evening we had an impromptu bbq with friends – you can see pictures on Amanda’s blog –  and the weather was so perfect we all sat outside until 11:30 relishing the fact that the chill was gone, at least for that night, and enjoying the company of good friends and lively conversation.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Dean Village, Edinburgh, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “There will be no miracles here”

  1. POP says:

    For all of man’s bluster, the ‘miracle’ is that God still exhibits perseverence, quietly and steadily, even in
    the face of such folly.
    Glad about the warm Florida/Calif. kinda of weather you were able to enjoy! Your pink cheeks showed up well on
    Amanda’s blog. It must have felt like a miracle.

Leave a Reply

