Pastoral Discovery


On Saturday Scotty and I decided to do a little exploring in a neighborhood not too far from where we live.  The Dalry and Gorgie areas are about a 10 minute walk from our flat and we’d never really spent any time there – with the exception of a couple of dinners at First Coast a wonderful restaurant specializing in local cuisine.  So Saturday morning saw us grabbing a couple of baguette sandwiches at Le Marche Francais and walking through Dalry.  It’s an interesting mix of run-down and up-and-coming properties – a real hodgepodge made up of charity shops, mobile phone repair stores, electronic consignments, Asian restaurants, and new local organic eateries.   What we weren’t expecting was to discover a farm in the city.  I’m not exactly sure what the idea behind the Gorgie City Farm is but apparently it’s been here since the 1970s.  We were simply walking by when we saw the sign and decided to check it out.  Here’s what we discovered:

Big Huge Turkey

Crazy turkey that kept trying to bite me while I was taking its picture.

Lots of ducks but we liked this one best - isn't the coloring unique?

A billy goat.

A bunny taking a nap in the sun.

An enormous pig (there were actually several swine) chewing on a metal chain. Curious.

A Jersey cow just chewing its cud.

This billy goat was my favorite. He looked so content - just chillin'.

Another Jersey cow - and let me tell you these things were beasts, they were extremely large.

Some new lambs, absolutely adorable...if a bit stinky.

This little guy was attacking the feed trough, rooting away in the straw. Must be storing up for a growth spurt.

This guy cracked me up - look at all that wool!

One furry ram.

Check out those irises. I had no idea that sheep and rams had slit shaped irises...

Posing - this guy was a ham.

Check out the reasons why there are no camels at the Gorgie City Farm.

My favorite reason:

So true!

So this was a bizarre and strange experience.  I had had no idea that there was a farm so near.  I am pretty sure that it was designed for families and Scotty and I got some weird glances from parents.  I guess this isn’t a place that young childless couples visit.  And of course I had my camera out the entire time and was clicking away.  I’ve found  that you have to be really careful over here when you’re in public places.  If anyone thinks that you may be taking a picture of a child you get some pretty strange looks.  Anyway, Scotty and I had our animal farm experience and I think I’ve had my fill for a while.  I have a admittedly idealistic view of farming and this was not it.  I am much more into the garden-type farm.   Back in California some family friends had an amazing “farm” that I spent lots of time at as a kid.  There was this enormous garden with rows of asparagus, lettuce, corn, potatoes, berries, and a dozen other things.  There may have been some chickens and rabbits – my memory is a bit fuzzy.  But I think that experience shaped my farming ideal.  I would love to have a huge garden one day but you can keep most of the animals.  Chickens are about as wild as I’ll ever get and I’ll only get them because those free-range eggs are so delicious and the chickens would help keep pests away from my precious lettuce.

All in all it was a fun outing.  We finished up the day with an amazing dinner at the Indian Calvary Club.  This place has some seriously good food.  We enjoyed poppadoms, balti rice, We had Pineapple Sambhar, a side dish of Lentils with Pineapple in a sweet/savory sauce that was amazing.  Scotty and I shared Bori Massallam and Jhalfrezie as our mains and were so happy with our choices.  The Bori was medium hot and served as a good foil to the piquante Jhalfrezie.  We definitely recommend booking a table here!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Exploring Scotland, Food, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pastoral Discovery

  1. Katie says:

    So fun! I had no idea that was there. Love the little lambies!!

  2. KATIE says:

    I love the animals. The lamb is my favorite . It is so cute.
    Tanks for the picturs. I love you so much. I miss YOU. How are you. How is work?
    KATIE your sister

  3. audrey says:

    SISTER!
    i want your life. I’d love to “happen upon” a farm 10 mintues from my flat!
    lambies may be stinky but they just need more space to run and play.
    would love to have a large farm with a communal garden together someday. we can share the chicks and I’ll take the larger animals on my side.
    how much fun! taking a baguette on a walk like this! happy for you.

Leave a Reply

