Roasted Pumpkin and Coconut Curry Soup


In my vegetable box I’ve been getting all sorts of fun Autumn produce.  When a huge pumpkin was delivered I thought about doing the usual carving but Scotty said he didn’t feel like carving a pumpkin this year, so I had to get creative.  With help from my chef friend, Melanie, I decided to make a soup.  It ended up being perfect for the increasingly cool weather.  Bonus, if you use vegetable stock and skip the yoghurt garnish, this recipe is entirely vegan but tastes so creamy you’d swear it wasn’t!

Roasted Pumpkin and Coconut Milk Soup

  • 1 medium to large pumpkin, peeled, seeded and cut into chunks
  • 3 red bell peppers, seeded and cut into chunks
  • 3-4 stalks celery, sliced
  • 3 leeks, sliced
  • 1-2 onions, chopped
  • 3-4 inch piece of ginger, peeled and grated
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed
  • 3 chili peppers (this made the soup fairly spicy so if you’re after a milder flavor, just add 1)
  • 3 TBSP curry powder
  • 2 -3 liters vegetable or chicken stock
  • 2-3 cans of coconut milk
  • grated peel of 1 lemon plus juice
  • 2-3 bunches fresh cilantro/coriander, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup Greek yoghurt
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 300°C/450°F.  Place the chunks of pumpkin and red peppers on a baking sheet, drizzle with a little oil and sprinkle with some curry seasoning.

Roast in oven, stirring occasionally, until the pumpkin is soft and beginning to caramelize a bit on the edges, about 30 minutes.  Meanwhile, blitz the onions, ginger, garlic and chillies in a blender or food processor, making sort of rough paste.  Set aside.

In a large pot, heat a bit of oil (I used EVcoconut) and sauté the chopped celery and leeks until they become fragrant and begin to soften.  Add the celery and leeks.  I wasn’t able to fit all my pumpkin in to the oven, so at this point I added the leftover chunks to the pot and just let them cook with the celery, leeks, and onion – it worked fine.  Once the leeks and celery have begun to soften add the garlic, chili, onion, ginger paste.  Stir until fragrant and well mixed.

Add the remaining curry powder.

Begin adding the broth, slowly stirring the whole time to get any sticky bits absorbed into the soup.  Add until soup is a bit watery.  At this point your pumpkin and peppers should be done.

Remove from oven.  Add the pumpkin to the soup and place peppers in a plastic bag and allow to steam for a minute or two.  This will make it easier to remove the skins.  Once you’ve removed the skins, add the peppers and pumpkin to the soup and simmer until all veggies are soft and fall apart when pressed against the side of the pot.  This will the the best indicator that the soup is ready to blend.

Blend the soup with a submersion blender or in batches in an upright blender (be careful as hot soup tends to splash in surprising ways!).  Once soup is blended return to heat and add the coconut milk and mix thoroughly to incorporate.  Stir in chopped coriander. Salt and pepper to taste.  I served it with a little yoghurt and coriander garnish.  Enjoy!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Edinburgh, Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roasted Pumpkin and Coconut Curry Soup

  1. Katie says:

    SO yummy! I will have to try this!!

  2. marty says:

    Bec, I’m on my way to Trader Joes (I finally got hooked!) and I’m looking for sth EASY to cook…not all these ingredients!!! But it does look delicious…and I’m sure it’s worth it:)

    I have a qustion: for what types of cooking do I want to ‘mince’ garlic and for what types do I want to ‘press’ the garlic clove??? Obviously the pressing releases more garlic flavor…maybe for spaghetti sauce?

    Last night I minced a couple cloves for this sloppy joe recipe that adds a tablespoon of molasses and is really good…

    Just a question from an amateur cook!

    THanks!
    marty:)

  3. Donna says:

    Oh yum!! Wonderful pictures!!

Leave a Reply

