Spring in Edinburgh


Today was spectacular. It feels like spring may actually be here. Of course, now that I’ve written that it will go hide for another six weeks. But seriously, today was one of those days that makes the long dreary winters quickly fade into memory. Spring in Edinburgh is like nothing else – I know that spring everywhere is beautiful and but there is something about the way it arrives here that I really love. It sort of starts to creep in – trees begin budding, the crocuses bloom. And everyone gets lulled into a false sense of happiness and they toy with the idea of turning off their heat. As soon as those thermostats are turned down, winter inevitably makes another attack. Sideways rain, bone-chilling winds – they’re all back. And then you’ll get a day like today. A day that began rainy and dreary. Frankly, it was a bit depressing and I’d decided to spend the day at home doing laundry, packing, and getting work done. But then my friend Melanie called and I happened to look up and see that the weather had completely shifted. So the two of us went out to lunch and the sun was shining, the air was warm, and there was a blustery breeze blowing. After lunch we parted ways at the Mound and I was treated to the sight of daffodils in full bloom. Every previous spring I’ve missed the daffodils at their peak – I’ve always been to early or late but today I think they all popped.

Aren’t they fantastic! And there were all sorts of signs of new life in the Princes Street Gardens.

It's always nice to have a castle in the background of your photos. You know, if you can manage it...

So I’m in a springy mood! And I have an idea – have you seen any great signs of spring where you’re at? My mother-in-law sent me a beautiful photo of a tree in full bloom in her yard in Florida and it got me thinking. How fun would it be to have pictures of spring from all over? Send me a picture that says “spring” to you and I’ll put together an entry with all your photos – giving full photographic credit, of course! Just email your photos to me at: rebecca (.) manor (@) gmail (.) com. Just delete the parenthesis and spaces.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in flowers, Just for Fun, Life in Edinburgh, Photo Project, photography, Thoughts, travel, Weather and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring in Edinburgh

  1. Bethy Manor says:

    I think that’s a great idea to send pictures in of Spring. Daffodils are my absolute favorite flower so thank you for taking such a lovely array of them!

Leave a Reply

