Bloggers are so nice…


So, some of my fellow bloggers have seen fit to nominate this quirky blog for a few awards. I have felt honored and been procrastinating in putting them up because the honors come with some responsibilities. In fact, they’re sort of like chain letters, once you’re nominated you then pass the award on to other blogs. The best thing about that is that now I can share with you some of my favorite blogs. So, here goes:

My blogger friend, Xandra nominated me for this one. Through some twist of fate Xandra and I discovered one another’s blogs and it’s been so much fun getting to know her. Be sure to check out her blog to read about her life in South Africa and her adventures in travel and photography. This award requires that I answer the following questions:

Favourite colour: Green
Favourite animal: Dog
Favourite number: 25
Favourite non-alcoholic drink: Water or tea
Facebook or Twitter? Both
My passion: Cultivating curiosity
Getting or giving presents? I love finding the perfect gift for someone – it’s so satisfying.
Favourite pattern: ?
Favourite day of the week: Friday
Favourite flower: Peony

I am passing the Sunshine Award on to the following blogs:

Bullfrog Symposium: A Celebration of Life- Asia, recipes, photography, fun writing.

I’m Still A Blogger by Karin Tome - Karin is a childhood friend of Scotty and I’ve enjoyed getting to know her over the past seven years. While she rarely writes on her blog, I love it when she does. Maybe if you all visit her blog regularly she’ll have more motivation to write regularly… :-)

Marina Chetner – great travel writing and photography collections.

On the Luce – one of my all-time favorites!

 

I was nominated for The Versatile Blogger Award by CabbieNotes and NotYetThere. These are two great travel blogs. CabbieNotes writes The Bespoke Traveler which features destinations and is always causing me to add new trips to my dream travel list. NotYetThere is both a travel and writing blog and therefore combines two of my passions! What more could a reader want?

This award also requires that I tell you a few things about me:

  • I have been known to order things off a menu when I have no idea what they are – especially if the menu is in a language I do not know. I like trying new things so what’s better than ordering a mystery dish?
  • I am nearly always reading 2-5 books.
  • I love to travel but I hate packing and I don’t really like staying in hotels.
  • My first pet was a rabbit named Solomon. It was eaten by a wild animal.

And I would like to pass the Versatile Blogger Award on to:

Silly Monkey Photo – Dmitrii Lezine seems to have been everywhere and during his extensive travels he’s taken some pretty incredible photographs. He does a lot with HDR – something I’m getting used to but am not quite sold on. Well, his photographs are winning me over.

Japan in 365 Days – A year-long project documenting a year spent teaching English in Japan. Simple concept, beautiful photos – addicting.

ANONSPARIS – The writings of a grad student spending two years in Paris. We can both relate to the frustrations and joys of being an expat in France.

Making This Home is a great blog on living small and minimizing your impact! Follow Katie as she and her husband transform an airplane hanger into their home.

Mais Oui Paris – a Texan living in Paris, how could that not be interesting?

Another nomination from XandréVerkes. Seriously, go check out her blog – she’ll make you want to book the next flight to South Africa.

A Liebster Blog Award is given to talented bloggers who have less than 200 followers. “Liebster” is a German word that means “Dearest” or “Beloved”. It also means ”Favourite”. So, in a way the award not only recognizes these bloggers as amazingly gifted in their own right but also as your very own personal favourites. The only rule here is that I pass it on to some especially remarkable blogs. Here they are, in no particular order.

1000 Scribbles – Another beautiful travel blog, Anna writes about her adventures, photography, and popular culture.

Bucket List Publications – Follow Leslie as she flies (often literally) through life bounding from adventure to adventure. Her latest undertaking is motherhood – a pretty big switch from bungie jumping and hang-gliding.

Slightly Reworded – another expat blog, but this time it’s Jimmy and he’s living in Beijing. Great reading.

NotYetThere - Great information on lesser-known spots in the UK.

Victor Travel Blog – Fantastic reading and gobsmacking photography.

 

And finally the 7×7 Award. I was nominated for this one by BringingYouBeruit, the adventures of an English girl living in Lebanon. The author, India, and I have a lot in common. We’ve both lived in Edinburgh and France. We both made origami ornaments for our Christmas trees and we’ve both had extremely frustrating experiences with our local postal services. You have to read about her post office nightmares in Beruit – they’re hilarious! Read here and here. This award comes with all sorts of requirements and I will fulfill those in a separate post.

So, there you have it! Thank you to the bloggers who nominated me – be sure to check them out!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Awards. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Bloggers are so nice…

  1. Sorry for lumping you with the most time-consuming one. They are a nice idea, but take some time to deal with I’ve found. I have a couple more I’ve been putting off writing about.
    But congratulations anyway – it’s great to see that so many people are reading and appreciating your stuff. You deserve it!

    • Rebecca says:

      Oh, India! No apologies necessary. It was so kind of you to nominate me. I just want to do it correctly but after going through all the others, I had no time left. I will get to it, though! I hope my readers check out your fascinating blog – it’s been so much fun to follow your journey.

  2. Jackie says:

    This is great! Congrats Rebecca!

  3. Congratulations on your awards! Wow! And thank you so much for sending me the sunshine – I appreciate your lovely words about my blog! I’ll take some time to look through your links :)

  4. Thanks so much Becca!!! A wonderful post!!! Can’t wait to browse your favourites when I have some “relax” time…. ;) **

    Hugs!
    Xandre :) **

  5. awwww. so touched to be listed as a recipient! thank you. love that you’re receiving such awesome awards.

  6. redjim99 says:

    Thanks Becca,

    It does sometimes seem like a chain letter thing doesn’t it. But it does spread out wider and wider which is nice.

    Jim

  7. Bethy Manor says:

    Hi Becca,

    I’m so THRILLED for you! Congratulations on all of these well deserved awards! Thanks for passing us along to your fellow bloggers, too. I do think you should write a book that should be for home-schoolers or anyone who wants an interesting perspective and beautiful pictures of all the places you and Scotty have visited and the experiences you’ve had!

  8. Pingback: A Kreative Sunshine Mash-Up | Marina Chetner

Leave a Reply

