Parisian Graffiti


There are several “hot spots” for graffiti in our neighborhood. It actually find it pretty humorous because it seems like there is a fairly well established 2-3 month cycle. First someone tags an area and slowly it fills with other peoples marks, some more interesting than others. And after a few months, the city paints over it, and the cycle begins again. There are a few pieces that even the city anti-graffiti task force seems happy to leave, pieces that are especially creative, or whimsical. I’ve spotted a couple recently that I found interesting.

Someone has been tagging multiple walls in our quartier with “regarde le ciel…” and I kinda like it. Even when I’m rushing to class or running errands, it reminds me to stop and look up – always a tricky proposition in this town when I can find myself continually looking down in order to avoid the “treats” that litter the sidewalks. So, I’m always happy to see these little messages. I also the the artist has branched out from her “look at the sky” reminders, to these:

I like these too. And here’s some more of our local artwork.

The "Look at the Sky" artist tagged another artist's work...and I think it actually works.

And as a child of the 1980s I cannot tell you how much I love spotting these:

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Art, Life in Paris and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Parisian Graffiti

  1. Jar Of Salt says:

    Oh! There’s Wally! :)

  2. Hahaha… I’ve spotted Wally too!!!! Great memories!!! ;) … what a gorgeous reminder!!! Regarde le ciel… simple, effective!!! Keep well Becca!!! :) **

  3. Pingback: » Wolves to Sausages: an Interview with Valencia’s Cere Strongroom Alive

Leave a Reply

