Going to the Trinity Chapel


I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday! We had a wonderful trip to Cambridge over the weekend and since we’ve been back we’ve been hanging out with family, trying to deal with a situation in our apartment, and attempting to get some work done. On Sunday we were in Cambridge for a wedding and it was lovely! Our Edinburgh friends Ash and Hannah were married at Trinity College and everything was perfect from the thoughtful and meaningful ceremony to the gorgeous reception in the Great Hall it was an experience we will never forget. I didn’t take as many pictures as I wanted to because I get a bit shy about popping out my camera in these sorts of situations but here’s a few.

On the right is Trinity College Chapel

Such a beautiful setting.

Inside the chapel before the ceremony started.

The organ music and Trinity College Choir were spectacular.

The very end of the ceremony.

Trinity was founded by Henry VIII, so naturally his portrait takes center stage in the Great Hall!

It was a spectacularly fun wedding and we were chuffed to be able to attend. Every detail was perfect, the toasts were hilarious and touching, the food spectacular, music amazing, conversations fascinating, and a there was a lot of hilarity. We also loved being back in the UK and realized how sad we were with the possibility of not returning to live there. It was exactly five years ago that we first made our exploratory trip to Scotland and England to look at schools and we stayed in Cambridge at the same hotel. That had been the beginning and this felt like it could mark the end and that was sad. We’ve grown to love this place and it felt so good and comfortable to be back. I love Paris but I don’t think it will ever feel like home the way the the UK does. So, it was a quick trip but it was good for our souls!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Exploring the UK, Life in Edinburgh, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Going to the Trinity Chapel

  1. Amanda says:

    Becca you look beautiful (as ever) and I LOVED seeing Scotty’s place card! Miss you friends and totally hear you on the UK feeling like home and the sadness as the prospect of leaving.

  2. audrey says:

    Great pictures. I’m glad you popped pix when you could. What a stately setting for a wedding. I agree with Amanda on both counts. The picture of you two is fantastic and DR MANOR! Very cool! See you soon!

  3. Wow! I had no idea you could get married at Cambridge! I was there back in 2010 studying abroad is was such a beautiful campus. I might want to get married there now :) so elegant!!

  4. POP says:

    Looks like a very sweet and memorable time.

  5. cynthiaclairebruni says:

    Loved the pictures, especially the honey(?) jars at the table and of course, that of Dr. Scott and Rebecca Manor!

  6. marty says:

    Wow, that Great Hall is really something…and I loved the ‘Dr. Scott Manor’…to me he’ll always be ‘Scotty’ :)

  7. Bethy Manor says:

    What a beautiful campus and chapel! I loved the pic of you and Scotty – you both look great!!! And of course I have to agree with Marty…..loved the ‘Dr. Scott Manor’, but he’ll always be Scotty to me too!

  8. Pingback: My To Do list | Dominic Yeo

Leave a Reply

