The Paris Opera House


Image

On Monday evening all the girls dressed up and made our way to the Paris Opera House to see the ballet L’histoire de Manon. This was one of the things on my mom’s “Must Do” list for her month in Paris and she ordered tickets a few weeks ago. I was looking forward to it but had no idea how incredible the experience would be. The entire evening was fabulous. Sitting in that historic building where some of the most important and influential ballets, symphonies, and operas have debuted, being surrounded by such beauty, sharing it with all these wonderful women. It was superb. And the ballet. I don’t even know where to start because it was sublime. I like ballet, it’s beautiful and graceful, etc. But I have never seen it done so well. The choreography was particularly emotive and expressive. So much was communicated without a single word. The dancers expressed everything from innocence, joy, bliss, and love to heartbreak, bitterness, anger, defeat, exhaustion, and jealousy. The costumes were amazing and you could clearly see how much thought went into every aspect of the ballet. Everything was about telling the story, each movement, the fabric and colors of the costumes, the sets, the rise and fall of the music. It was captivating. And while cramming my 5’10” frame into seats built for the tiny physiques of nineteenth century French people was not comfortable at all, the performance was so amazing it was easy to forget that my knees were bent at unnatural angles!

Here’s some pics from the evening.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

One of the hundreds of lanterns that lights the inside of the Opera House.

Image

The ushers conducting "The Sweep" at the end of the evening. The sort of all descend at the same time and make sure you all leave promptly and don't hang out.

If you find yourself in Paris, I would really recommend taking an evening and going to the ballet. It is worth it! Sometimes you can get rush tickets right before a performance and they are not expensive and you probably won’t be comfortable but the experience is amazing!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in architecture, Art, Life in Paris and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Paris Opera House

  1. Sounds magical!!! I have always loved going to the state theatre for ballet!!! :) **

  2. POP says:

    Sounds like a beautiful night for the beautiful ladies!

  3. marty says:

    Absolutely LAVISH! I’m getting excited! And I love those adjectives you used to describe the emotions the ballet dancers expressed…all without words.
    That’s the other good thing about ballet–no language barrier!
    Much love :)

  4. cynthia says:

    What a great time! That 3rd pic is just amazing. Glad you had fun!

  5. cynthiaclairebruni says:

    I loved the vaulted ceiling! 5’10″! My you’ve grown since I last saw you!

  6. Audrey says:

    It sounds wonderful! We may give it a go!

  7. Bethy Manor says:

    Your pictures are stunning, and the Opera House – exquisite! Now you’ve got me really excited for our upcoming Tokyo Ballet! Thank you so much for sharing and giving us a ‘sneak preview.’ You ALL look lovely, by the way!

  8. zelmare says:

    Wonderful! I also love ballet. Love the pics. :)

  9. Pingback: The Tokyo Ballet at the Palais Garnier | Paris at my doorstep

Leave a Reply

