A Rainy Night on the Eiffel


I have SO much to get caught up on! The past month has been a blur. We’ve had my mom and sister, Katie in town along with an ever-changing rota of guests. First Mom had several of her friends staying at the beautiful apartment she rented near the Luxembourg Gardens and then we were joined by our dear friends Glen and Audrey, and in these past four weeks we’ve been busy. I am having a bit of trouble downloading my latest photos, but while I figure that out, I can get you caught up on some of my favorite outings from April.

One night it seemed like we were going to get a break in the interminable rain that has been pouring down on Paris since “the Girls” had arrived so we decided to head over to the Eiffel Tower. This was attempt numero two for everyone in the group except me as they had gone earlier in the week only to be met by lines of hundreds of people. In the evening the line for the elevator was a bit shorter, but we decided to climb. This was my third or fourth time up the Eiffel but I had never climbed it. And now I think I would recommend it over the elevator. You really get to get into the guts of the amazing construction. You can see all the rivets, pulleys and other fascinating structural work and that makes so much more interesting. 

As the pictures below show, it started raining almost as soon as we began our climb. Really raining. 

So while the views for the first part of our climb weren’t the greatest, it did give us a chance to check out the structure. 

And then, almost as suddenly as it has started the rain cleared and the clouds just blew past. We got these beautiful clear views of Paris and I think the sudden change in humidity in the air made the lights seem especially sparkly.

I love the green lights in the three pictures below.

The girls doing their Eiffel Tower yoga poses on the Eiffel Tower. They are sure a fun group to hang out with! After our climb the girls were really excited to see the Tower sparkle and we made our way to the Champ de Mars for a good view. It has started raining again but it was fun to huddle under our umbrellas and watch the Eiffle come to life. 

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in architecture, Family, Life in Paris, Paris, photography, Visitors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Rainy Night on the Eiffel

  1. I am besotted with your photos Becca!!! I just love the Eiffel – I think it is an amazing steel structure!!!! I’ve only ever been once (and that was a climb!!!) – next time I’ll be going to the top (the elevator line for the second half was way to busy – and time was precious!!) !!!! Can only imagine what it looks like!!! :D **

  2. realoves says:

    Stunning photos Bec. Thanks for the memories!

  3. Tara says:

    Amazing photos… You’ve really captured the Eiffel Tower beautifully!

  4. frizztext says:

    great tribute to Mr. Eiffel!

  5. Iain says:

    Hi Becca.
    I mentioned some time ago that my wife and I were planning a visit to Paris and staying on isle st louis. We arrived on Monday and it is as beautiful as we hoped it would be as well as the wonderful pics from your blog have shown. We walked to the arc de triumph today in time to see the cavalcade of dignitaries leaving after the VE day commemoration.
    Thanks again for a great blog

  6. redjim99 says:

    Great photos, can’t beat a visit there. We were lucky to see the sun set from the tower two years ago, amazing, with Paris slowly lighting up around us.

    Jim

  7. audrey says:

    Wow, Rebecca. Those are amazing pictures! I loved reading about your rainy climb up the Eiffel only to have it break so you could see Paris. What a beautiful city you’ve captured. Fun to remember it here in Saint Louis!

  8. Melissa says:

    Love the black and white pics of the Eiffel Tower, look like they were from a magazine you did SUCH a good job!! As usual!!!!
    Hugs,
    Mel

  9. thepoolman says:

    Very nice night time shots from the tower. Keep up the good work.

  10. thepoolman says:

    Of course the shots of the girls doing the Eiffel pose looks like they are at a Jimmy Buffet concert. “Fins to the left, fins to the right…”

  11. zelmare says:

    Your pictures are just too beautiful for words!!! I want up the Eiffel once, climbing, and loved it! I dream of doing it again. :)

  12. Bethy Manor says:

    My very favorite pic is the first one of the tower all lit up and glowing against the sky at an angle! All of it looks like great fun and your pictures tell quite a story!

Leave a Reply

