Waiting for Doisneau


Scotty and I were excited about an exhibition of Robert Doisneau’s wonderful photographs taking place at the Hôtel de Ville. One of of the last days that it was open we were joined by the rest of the gang and waited a bunch of other Parisians as we waited for over 90 minutes to get in. Of course, it was pouring rain. By the time we entered my shoes had been completely soaked through and I was a bit crabby. But at the beginning the umbrellas were charming. So many different patterns.

Scotty telling a story to keep us occupied.

As expected, the exhibition was entirely worth the wait! Doisneau took pictures of the famous Les Halles markets for over 40 years. This collection paired his older pictures with the ones he took in the year leading up to the closing of the historic site. Absolutely fabulous. Although the following photo completely gave me the creeps.

Yes, those are rats hanging in the window…and the title of the photo is “Pause repas rue des Halles” or “Snack break on rue des Halles” – but no, the girls are not eating rats. The window behind them was for a pest control company that is still in business!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Art, Paris, photography, travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waiting for Doisneau

  1. katemai says:

    Becca, I, too , waited in the rain for quite a while to see this exhibit! And I also found it to be worth the wait. In fact, everything I have waited to see at the Hotel de Ville has been worth the wait! Nice photos, as usual!

  2. Melissa says:

    Fabulous as ever post! You are destined for great things Becca with your photos, the exceptionally written blog and your eye that catches the unusual and fun! Big Hugs!
    Mel

  3. POP says:

    Nice work Scotty – keeping everyone in good cheer!
    The rat in the upper right corner? Are you sure?
    More like an over sized Chihuahua to me

  4. cynthiaclairebruni says:

    I agree about the Chihuahua Russ! Becca your colorful umbrella photo reminded me of the ’64 foreign film “Umbrellas of Cherbourg” with Catherine Deneuve. You have quite the artistic eye for detail!

Leave a Reply

