Filling in the gaps


As this blog sort of serves as a journal, before I get to the Manor adventures in Paris, I have to fill in a few holes from our previous visitors’ time here. So, here’s a long entry that is mostly just so I don’t forget these memories that probably mean more to me than they will to you! :-)

A day with Katie:

May 1 is the Labor holiday in France. The city is full of people waiting around for parades and demonstration. It’s a bit bizarre. And Scotty, Katie and I were on our own as everyone else was off shopping, visiting museums, etc. Katie had been a trooper when it came to long hours of looking at art, so Scotty and I thought we’d give her the day off. And we walked around Paris and acted goofy.

It was a gorgeous day.

Scotty and Katie were a bit bored though.

So we stopped by Erik Kaiser – one of the only bakeries that makes me question my gluten-free status. I stayed strong.

Another day we went art shopping with Glen and Audrey. And would you believe they bought some prints from the same artist we did nearly three years ago!

And before Katie came over here, I sent her a copy of a children’s version of The Hunchback of Notre Dame. The deal was that if she read it, I would take her to the top of the famous cathedral.

Katie, with her beloved Skippy, standing atop Notre Dame.

And Katie with the giant bell.

After our climb, Katie and I made our way to the cool swing-type thing where Katie wanted to take a ride. We arrived to find the swing occupied by a Frenchwoman, despite the warning that it was only for children under 14. She was chatting away on her cellphone and even when little Katie approached, she wouldn’t get off. So, I told Katie to go ahead and climb on. She did, and the lady still sat on it. I have her a minute before I began pushing Katie, thinking that she would probably get off then, but no, apparently she wanted a ride as well. Don’t think I’ll ever push a middle-aged French woman on a swing again. Found it to be really bizarre.

Katie also discovered she’s a huge fan of falafel, so we had to make our way to get some of the best in town! L’As du Falafel cannot be beat!

Another day saw Mom and me taking on the shoe department at Galleries Lafayette! And we needed some fortification, so we headed to the rooftop café of Pritemps for a windy snack.

We could see a storm blowing in on the horizon. Can you see the cloudburst?

There were so many memories packed into this crazy month! Such a fun and special time.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Family, Paris. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Filling in the gaps

  1. Hilary says:

    That swing is really cool! I would love to give that a try. That lady sitting there is really strange. I can’t believe she let you push her like she was a five year old. Great video, one of the best you have made:)

  2. Great memories – & yes, you need to document as many things possible – especially if it serves as a journal type entry!!! Bizarre about the crazy french lady – I think that would have cracked me up if I were there!!! :) **

  3. thepoolman says:

    It looks like Katie is having a great time. She is very lucky to have you and Scotty there.

  4. zelmare says:

    Delightful! I didn’t know one could go to the top of the Notre Dame – now I HAVE to go back!!! Wonderful memories. :)

Leave a Reply

