Bieber Fever Hits Paris


OK, one of the things I have actually enjoyed about living abroad is the fact that I’m pretty much completely out of touch with American pop culture. Despite that I have heard of Justin Bieber – I mean I have little sisters who are 12 and 17 and I’d have to live under a rock to not know of one of the most famous pop stars in the world today. That being said, I don’t know a single one of his songs.

Anyway, Scotty and I were walking to school this morning and our usual route takes us past the Universal Studios office here in Paris. Normally, it’s just any other office but this morning there were a bunch of teenyboppers hanging around out front. Scotty jokingly said, “Bet they’re waiting for Justin Beiber.” We laughed and went on our merry way.

About four hours later, we were on our way home and the crowd in front of Universal had grown substantially. So we stopped and asked what was going on. This guy said, “You’re not going to believe it, Justin Bieber is supposed to come out on that balcony and do a performance.” We started cracking up! So, of course, we had to stay and watch. The problem was that with each moment that passed, we felt a bit of our dignity dying.

The most interesting thing was listening to the people around us. There were a group of Americans from YWAM. They were on their DTS and I overheard one of them say “He was OK that we skipped Evangelism class.” So apparently, they were skipping class to come see Justin. But they made it a ministry opportunity…

This signage would join other such placards:

It was an interesting crowd to be in. Very strange actually. I was never a star-struck teen. It’s never made sense to me, so being surrounded by all these crazy kids was very weird.

The fifteen-year-olds didn’t react kindly when someone stuck this t-shirt out of a window!

The t-shirt says: Go Home Beiber. There were some angry tweens. Anyway, Justin soon made his appearance and the crowd went wild.

 

This was my favorite. This old lady hanging out her window, checking out the young star.

Oh my!

There were a couple of casualties in the scuffle to see Justin. One girl apparently passed out and was lying on a park bench when I left, surrounded by medics and security personelle. Another girl apparently got a bit trampled, she was carried out of the crowd by this huge bodyguard. She was crying, her trousers were torn, and she appeared to be bleeding. Seriously crazy.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Bieber Fever Hits Paris

  1. Melissa says:

    I am really disappointed you didn’t get his autograph!! LOL!! Hugs!

    Mel

  2. Solomon says:

    That’s hilarious!

  3. TOT says:

    HAHAHA!!!! This is very hilarious and I can’t stand his singing or him but Katie likes his music on the other hand and she almost passed out seeing this! hahah! jk! Love you and sad your stay in Paris is coming to an end!

  4. Bethy Manor says:

    WOW! Really crazy!!!

  5. POP says:

    Well at least there is one popular American in Paris!
    btw . . . this is all over youtube . . .
    Good call Scotty!
    Becca the picture of the young French girls is fabulous. Such a mirage of faces.
    You should copyright it and get it out there.

  6. Karin says:

    I love Justin Bieber!

  7. Hilary says:

    Way to represent YWAM!! WooHoo! I’m sure there was actually a whole lot more praying going on there than at your average church on Sunday. It’s just that the prayers went a little something like this, “Dear God, please just let Justin notice me and fall in-love with me. I will be so good if that happens.”

  8. POP says:

    Hey thanks Solomon . . . never knew! Imagine that. Katie never told me.
    And Hil . . . cracking me up

  9. zelmare says:

    I could never get that either… And Bieber! I mean really, what has he got? He’s such a little woos. Sorry, my personal opinion, but I’m worried about the type of ‘boys’ the girl s go for these days…

  10. Pingback: 128% of Scientists are easily misled by cancerous headlines « power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci

Leave a Reply

