The Tokyo Ballet at the Palais Garnier


One of the things that Beth, my mother-in-law, really wanted to do on her second trip to Paris was go to a ballet at the old Paris Opera House, or Palais Garnier. Their visit happened to coincide with the Tokyo Ballet’s performance of Le Kabuki. We got our tickets months ago and were eagerly anticipating this unique experience.

All dressed up for the ballet.

We settled into our seats and took in our surroundings. Once again I was struck with what a beautiful building this is.

I absolutely love the Chagall ceiling. It was such a whimsical addition to what can otherwise be somewhat somber and imposing surroundings. It sort of sits there and says, “Remember this is supposed to be enjoyable!”

The performance was amazing. Lots of drama, an intriguing story line, and completely different from the ballet I’d seen earlier with my mom and sisters. It was fun to have two such contrasting performances.

Beth and Marty at the top of the Grand Stairway

Me and Marty

I had a wonderful time sharing this experience with Beth and Marty! Definitely one we will remember for a long time.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Tokyo Ballet at the Palais Garnier

  1. Bethy Manor says:

    This brings back memories of an unforgettable experience! Thank you so much!

  2. marty says:

    Yea! Thank you for sharing this, Bec. I like how you said the Chagall ceiling is supposed to remind us that ‘this should be enjoyable’ :)

Leave a Reply

