Mont Saint Michel


When we arrived the air was still foggy – sort of perfect don’t cha think?

The second day in Normandy we had the opportunity to go to the hideout made famous in that wonderful work of fiction turned into a delightful movie. Remember, the line?

We seek him here, we seek him there,
Those Frenchies seek him everywhere.
Is he in heaven? — Is he in hell?
That damned, elusive Pimpernel

That’s right, we went to Mont Saint Michel. The hotel that we stayed at in Bayeaux runs a shuttle service and so we took advantage of that (having booked weeks ago) and were on our way. The shuttle driver had been told that Scotty and I spoke French by the hotel staff (I don’t know why they did that!) and so he thought it would be good practice for us to serve as translators. He would tell us little tidbits about the countryside and the history of the area and we would translate for everyone on the shuttle. Thankfully our party took up most of the seats but I felt sorry for the couple from Washington, DC who had to listen to our clumsy translations. Despite being a bit embarrassing, it was kinda fun. The drive from Bayeaux to MSM took us through some gorgeous countryside.

The island is currently undergoing quite a bit of construction and that was a bit distracting, but it is a very interesting and beautiful place. The big construction project is the construction of a bridge that will link the island with the main land and allow them to take down the road that currently connects the two. This will allow sands to flow and move as right now the road is preventing that from happening. In a few years so much sand will have accumulated that the famous island will no longer be an island. Thus the huge construction project.

Anyway, here’s pictures from our time visiting the abbey. It’s quite a climb to the top of the island. There are steep inclines and tons of stairs but it is worth it when you get up to the top.

I loved the purple trim on this lovely stone building at the base of the island.

Apparently this restaurant is really famous for its omelettes. We weren’t able to try them but Beth bought the cookbook, so we will let you know when we have a chance to cook one up.

Climbing.

I was fascinated by the little village that exists on Mont St. Michel. People actually live here! I would love to go back with more time to explore these little streets.

There’s even a little cemetery!

Scotty and his mom after a long climb on a hot day.

The abbey.

Still an active and working monastery, this place has a fascinating history. Its been a monastery, a prison, a garrison.

Beautiful stonework and I love the wooden roof structure.

Inside the abbey – the stone was apparently quarried from surrounding islands and has a distinctive green hue. It’s beautiful.

It’s amazing to think of the effort that went into constructing this church. The quarrying of the stone, transporting it to this island (presumably during low tide), getting it up to the top of the hill. These people were serious about their buildings.

The cloisters were so lovely. This idyllic little bit of space. I wonder what the nuns and monks think of their contemplative quarters being invaded by photo snapping tourists.

One of the dining halls.

I found this tiny little garden tucked away behind a tall fence.

Gorgeous hardware.

The crypt.

It was amazing. The monastery is expansive and we could have spent a lot more time exploring it and listening to the audio guide that is available. And I would have loved to have more time to check out the town–but we’ll just have to come back some day. Normandy has wiggled its way into my heart so I’m sure this isn’t the last we’ll see of it.

On the way back, he drive pulled off to this spot where we could check out the lambs feasting in the marshes. When the tide is low the sheep are allowed into the marshlands to eat the seagrass and lush vegetation that grows there. Apparently these plants are pretty salty as they live in brackish water and so the lamb’s meat is absolutely delicious. It’s a specialty of Normandy but we were there a bit early in the season to be able to try it. Too bad, it sounds delicious!

Thank you Tim and Beth for such a fun trip! It was so memorable and such a special time together. And thanks to Marty for all her organization work!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Mont Saint Michel

  1. Melissa says:

    Loved this posting! I loved the Scarlet Pimpernel movies!! Glad your trip with the Manor’s was fab, looks like the weather cooperated as well as your pictures are wonderful and filled with whimsey and interest! Great job again!
    Hugs!Mel

  2. This is one of my top dream destinations to visit!!! &your post is one of the best on Mont Saint Michel that I have read so far!!! Do you mind if I reblog this?? I would love too share this great post!! you have posted wonderful photos Becca & great accompanying information – & you are making me even more excited about visiting (hopefully soon!!!!) :) **

    • Rebecca says:

      Hi Xandré! Thank you for your kind words! I would be honored if you shared my post. One day you’ll visit this amazing place and when you do I look forward to seeing your photos! <3

  3. Pingback: Mont Saint Michel – Dream Destination | Xandré Verkes

  4. POP says:

    Fabulous post Becca of an extrodinary place. This Mont looks like reason enough
    to return to France once again. Is there a place to stay overnight on the island?
    I would have loved to have been a passenger on the shuttle listening.

  5. realoves says:

    Yes, I would have loved to hear your translations! How fun. Looks like all the Manors had a marvelous time. So happy for you all. I really do think I’ll have to get back to France before too long! Your pictures are fantastic and so inviting!

  6. zelmare says:

    A wonderful post, Becca. The photographs have really transported me there. Thanks for that, as I have always wanted to go there, ever since my French teacher in high school had told me about the place. I might get there, and I might not, but at least I now have a very good idea of what it looks like. :)

  7. Face says:

    WOW! Absolutely stunning, not to mention informative. Lord bless bloggers for making me visit places I’d probably never get to see for real.

    Thanks Xandre for sharing this.

  8. Bethy Manor says:

    What a fun, exciting day we all had, and quite a feat for me with the help of my family who saw that I made it to the top!

  9. thepoolman says:

    Lovely. Thank you. We’re looking forward to our visit in early October.

  10. Tara says:

    Beautiful photos… I have put this place on my ‘to do’ list for my next trip to Europe…

  11. marty says:

    I confess I’m just now reading this, but you have captured Mt. S. Michel with your photos…some great close ups–esp. of the cloister courtyard-garden!!! Thanks for documenting!

Leave a Reply

