My new favorite breakfast


DSCF9586

I have a hard time with breakfast. Basically since going gluten-free as well as grain-free, I find it a bit difficult to keep things interesting. And my experiments in grain-free substitutes for pancakes and other traditional breakfast fare have met with mixed success at best. Thanks to a bunch of rainbow Swiss chard in my veggie box, I now have a new dish to add to the rotation. And I love cooking Swiss chard because it’s so pretty. Starting you morning cooking something bright pink and green is always fun. And it’s super easy.

Eggs over Swiss Chard

  • 1 pastured egg per person
  • Swiss chard, 3-4 leaves per person
  • coconut oil
  • olive oil
  • herbes de Provence
  • salt
DSCF9580

I love these stems! They’re so pretty…and nutritious!

Remove the thick stems from the Swiss chard and finely chop. Roughly chop the leaves, they cook way down so don’t worry about getting them into small pieces. 

DSCF9585

For some reason it reminds me of confetti!

In a frying pan heat about 1/2 tablespoon olive oil with 1/2 tablespoon coconut oil (if you only have one, just use whatever you have). Add about a tablespoon herbes de Provence and sauté until fragrant and gently toasted. Don’t overcook or herbs will turn bitter.

DSCF9588

Herbs are now lightly toasted and they smell sooooo good!

Next add the chopped Swiss chard steps and sauté over medium high heat for a couple minutes.

DSCF9590At this point it’s a good idea to add a bit of salt and pepper and stir thoroughly. Then add the leaves.

DSCF9592Once the leaves are wilted and tender, place on a plate. In the same hot pan, fry an egg. I like mine kinda crunchy around the edges but I realize that many many people don’t so cook it however you prefer. I think that leaving the yolk runny is the best way ’cause then you get all that yummy yolky goodness to mix in with the chard.

Place the egg on top of the chard, sprinkle with pepper, and dig in. And you’ve started your day with a good serving of veg. Score!

DSCF9605

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My new favorite breakfast

  1. Sloane says:

    Mmmmm! That looks so good! I’m curious to hear about your grain free experience. I’ve had such great results just from being gluten free but I still eat other grains, you’ll have to tell me how you have been doing. I get in such ruts with cooking that this kind of idea is very inspiring! :)

  2. Katie says:

    That looks amazing! I also went gluten-free. Though I don’t think I am fancy enough to make this! I guess I will have to come over :)

  3. it looks healthy and easy to cook; very nice idea
    regards, Oana

  4. Bethy Manor says:

    It seems that you would be great at doing the cooking demonstrations at Williams Sonoma! I bet you could get the job and it would be so much fun for you!

  5. MMMMMMmmmmm! You have created a real work of art, here!
    Have you tried using almond meal in place of flour? I like to make myself a “bread” with it that I can cut a piece of every morning if I’m not feeling like chopping and cooking yet. The recipe is in Wheat-Belly Cookbook, and I’ve made alterations to make it sweet or savory depending on how I feel. And, no rash! No joint pain! Hooray!

  6. Trisha Williams says:

    Yummy!! Haven’t cooked with swiss chard before but this gives me a bit of encouragement. Thanks for sharing, Becca!

Leave a Reply

