Saying Goodbye to St. Louis


P7310376
Today we left behind our apartment in St. Louis and are heading to California to visit my family. I had no idea how tough this would all be. Leaving behind Demun, Kaldi’s and our neighborhood friends really sunk in as we pulled away. Right before we left Chad hooked us up with a huge bag of Kaldi’s goodies for the road – thank you Chad! Another friend, Rod, surprised us with a beautiful 1st edition of Robert Louis Stevenson’s “Edinburgh” – what an amazingly thoughtful gift. The book, which was published in 1908, is a great guide to the history, lore and legend of Edinburgh. It’s full of great pictures and is written in RLS’s flowery and descriptive language. It’s really a special thing to have as we head off to our new home.
Our schedule for the next few weeks is a bit crazy.  Today, we leave St. Louis and drive, along with our Uhaul trailer, to Oklahoma City.  From there we’re going to try to make a 1000 miles in one day to Flagstaff, AZ.  Next it’s a visit to Grandma’s house in Huntington Beach, CA.  A couple of nights there, and then it’s to San Luis Obispo to visit the Bergs!  We have two weeks there followed by a quick drive back to St. Louis.  We’re staying with our dear friends the Brouwers who are throwing us a going-away party and then it’s off to Chautuaqua, NY to visit the Manors for two weeks.  Finally – after all of that, we leave for Edinburgh on Sept. 9.  We’ll keep you up-to-date as our travels progress!
P7310374

We'll miss this place.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saying Goodbye to St. Louis

  1. Colleen says:

    Oh my goodness, Rebecca, I just realized that you are from St. Louis. I work at Kaldi’s now! I know all the places you mentioned and am so excited to be following in your footsteps.

    • Rebecca says:

      No way! This is a such a weird “it’s a small world” moment. Do you work at the one in DeMun? We love St. Louis and have missed it a lot. Although, after four years in Scotland, that’s the place that really feels like home. All the best on your move to France. It’s a great, beautiful, amazing, and sometimes infuriating country. I can’t wait to read more of your blog posts. It’s amazing how WordPress links are made and the world shrinks a little each time but becomes more meaningful. I really am in shock that you’re working at Kaldis! I could totally go for one of their iced coffees right now! 🙂
      -Becca

  2. Colleen says:

    I work at the one in Kirkwood, but I do love the original on Demun. It’s a great company, and I just had my first “apprentice barista” training so I learning all the nuances of making coffee. And yes, the toddy (iced coffee) has to be the best in St. Louis.

    I’m looking forward to moving back to France. It became my home, because wherever you develop a community, “home is where the heart is.” I’ve never been to Scotland, so hopefully I’ll be doing more traveling when I get back to the other side of the pond. I’ve a lot of posts to read on your blog, to catch up on though!

Leave a Reply

