Welcome!


Hi family and friends,

We are trying out a new blog because we’ve been having so many problems with the .mac account.  I hope you were all able to click on the link and get here successfully.  If you have any problems, just email me and I’ll see what I can do.

Scotty and I had a great time on our weekend getaway to western Scotland.  We spent a night at Glencoe and enjoyed the great scenery.  The drive today was amazing – we saw dramatic skies, beautiful waterfalls, sheep, a rainbow, and lots more.  I’m going to let the pictures speak for themselves!

 

Our Hotel

Our Hotel

img_6062

Area around our hotel in Ballachulish

img_6072

View from the front of our hotel

We just happened upon this dramatic rainbow that stretched across the sky about 15 minutes into our drive on Saturday.  It was so incredible and such a great reminder of God's unceasing faithfulness to his people.

We just happened upon this dramatic rainbow that stretched across the sky about 15 minutes into our drive on Saturday. It was so incredible and such a great reminder of God's faithfulness!

It was so close it felt as though we could reach out and touch it...or that we would soon see a little green man running around!

It was so close, I almost felt like looking for a paranoid little green man sitting on a pot of gold!

img_6084

The sky began to clear up after the morning dawned dark and foreboding! Amazing that we hit some of the most beautiful days we've experienced here in Scotland.

img_6118

Big Sky

The clearing clouds made for some truly dramatic vistas.

The clearing clouds made for some inspiring vistas.

The sky truly became more and more dramatic by the moment.  Scotty was constantly stopping the car and pulling over so one of us to could jump out and snap a picture of the unfolding drama.
The sky truly became more and more beautiful by the moment. Scotty was constantly stopping the car and pulling over so one of us to could jump out and snap a picture of the unfolding scenes.
I think that this was the climax of the atmospheric drama.  I have about 15 pictures of this scene and won't bore you with all of them, but when faced with such beauty how can you not try to capture it, even if it's a small and futile attempt?

I think that this was the climax of the atmospheric drama. I have about eight pictures that are slight variations of this one and promise to not bore you with all of them. But seriously, when faced with this kind of beauty, how can you not attempt to capture part of it?

The sky suddenly cleared and lit up the lochs scattered everywhere!  Don't worry, it was only sunny like this for about 15 minutes.  The clouds did return.

The sky suddenly cleared and lit up the lochs scattered everywhere! Don't worry, the clouds returned about fifteen minutes later.

Still sunny but you can see the clouds moving back in.

Still sunny but you can see the clouds moving back in.

More dramatic sky views

More dramatic sky views

I loved the drama of the rock mountains. While not nearly as high as the Alps or Sierra Nevada's the mountains here seem very stark and wild.

I loved the harshness of the rock mountains. While not nearly as high as the Alps or Sierra Nevada's the mountains here seem very stark and wild.

Another common sight here - water is literally rushing of every mountain and hill here.  The waterfalls are ubiquitous and so beautiful.

Another common sight here - water is literally rushing of every mountain and hill here. The waterfalls are ubiquitous and so beautiful.

Me on one of our many stops throughout the day.  I think that while the sun was out we must have stopped every three minutes to take pictures.  I guess it's a good thing that it wasn't out all day or we would have never made it to Skye.  As you can see behind me, the clouds were now moving in.

Me on one of our many stops throughout the day. I think that while the sun was out we must have stopped every three minutes to take pictures. I guess it's a good thing that it wasn't out all day or we would have never made it to Skye. As you can see behind me, the clouds were now moving in.

Trying to get a picture of a sheep on the side of the road.  An all-together common sight here but it still makes me happy.

Trying to get a picture of a sheep on the side of the road. An all-together common sight here but it still makes me happy.

 

So – let me know if you like this blog format.  While we are looking for alternatives to .mac, we are open to all suggestions. Thanks!

 

 

 

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Exploring Scotland, Mini-break and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome!

  1. Rea Berg says:

    Hi Bec and Scotty,
    These pictures are so dramatic I feel like you were standing on the edge of the world at the dawn of creation. It reminds me that our humanity simply cannot contain the emotions that are elicited by the vastness, expanse, and glory of that much beauty. While we wrestle with not being able to truly take it in, we are reminded that our fallen earth isn’t even the pure expression of the creator’s beauty, only a shadow. Thank you for those pictures and I hope you settle soon on a new blog site. I can’t wait to see the other wonders you reveal with your camera!
    Loving you and missing you both so much.

Leave a Reply

