Veggie Delivery Dilemma


So I still love my vegetable delivery service.  I look forward to it each week because I never really know what is going to show up.  There are a few things I can count on – dirty carrots, onion, some sort of green leafy veggie (lately it’s been lots of kale and chard), usually a turnip or swede.  But sometimes I get things I have absolutely no idea about.  And this week’s delivery contained the following vegetable.  Not only does it look very strange, I don’t even know what to call it.  Any ideas?  Really, I could use your help on this one.  

 

Is it just me or does this look like a brain?

Is it just me or does this look like a brain?

 

I can't tell if it's some sort of turnip with a big bundle of root offshoots, or something completely different.

I can't tell if it's some sort of turnip with a big bundle of root offshoots, or something completely different.

 

It's about the size of a cantaloupe.  ANY ideas?

It's about the size of a cantaloupe. ANY ideas?

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Cultural Difference, Life in Edinburgh, Strange Veggies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Veggie Delivery Dilemma

  1. hilary severson says:

    Wow, i would probably think twice before eating this thing….

  2. marty says:

    Is it a parsnip? How and when does a people group begin to know it can ‘eat’ things like this from the ground? That’s what I want to know! They must’ve been a hungry people group:)

  3. julie says:

    Please Please PLEASE don’t eat that!

  4. Rea Berg says:

    Ok Bec, that is remarkably strange! I like Marty’s comment and I agree. Here is the closest thing I could find to your photo–a pile of Irish rutabega!
    http://www.galleryica.com/art.asp?ArtID=2021
    See what you think–it looks pretty similar.
    Anyway good luck cooking it, it seems just peeling it will take an hour! Also, you might want to save it for Pop and Sol and just have them guess what it is! Bon appetite!!

  5. julie says:

    Really Mom? They really ATE that? (micah b)

Leave a Reply

