Exploring Edinburgh


Today we showed Pop and Sol around the Botanical Gardens, Dean Village, the Waters of Leith, the museums, and Inverleith Park.  It was a busy day!  We finished by going to the evening service at P’s & G’s where an American was preaching!  The funny thing about being Americans listening to an American preacher in Scotland is that we laughed a lot harder at his jokes than anyone else there did!  These huge American-sized laughs and guffaws were all coming from our row (the preacher really was quite funny) while quiet, subdued, British titters were coming from the other rows.  It’s funny because I realized how much I’ve slipped into the British mode of speaking softly and not showing a lot of emotion.  Sitting next to Sol, who has a great unencumbered and free laugh, was so fun!  He laughed without caring what anyone around him thought – and that made it easier for me to do the same!  SO our row was cracking up at all the minister’s jokes and it was fun. Here’s pics from the day:

Breakfast

Breakfast

I had visited this land sculpture before, but had no idea it was an important work until Sol asked if we could visit it.

I had visited this land sculpture before, but had no idea it was an important work until Sol asked if we could visit it.

The land sculpture from another angle.

The land sculpture from another angle.

Standing on the sculpture, looking back toward the Scottish Museum.

Standing on the sculpture, looking back toward the Scottish Museum.

I think this whole thing is pretty cool.  I posted about it in a previous blog, but I was once again impressed!

I think this whole thing is pretty cool. I posted about it in a previous blog, but I was once again impressed!

Walking from the museums toward the Botanical Gardens, we came across this enormous rainbow - film is just unable to capture how beautiful it was.

Walking from the museums toward the Botanical Gardens, we came across this enormous rainbow - film is just unable to capture how beautiful it was.

Inside the Palm House - the flowers were the best I've seen them in all my visits here!

Inside the Palm House - the flowers were the best I've seen them in all my visits here!

I love the color of these - and I'm still figuring out how to upload pictures in the correct direction...

I love the color of these - and I'm still figuring out how to upload pictures in the correct direction...

I have a new lens for my camera that arrived with my dad, and it was so much fun to try and break it in on these flowers.  I still need to learn a lot about it, but it was fun just using it on these gorgeous flowers.

I have a new lens for my camera that arrived with my dad, and it was so much fun to try and break it in on these flowers. I still need to learn a lot about it, but it was fun just using it on these gorgeous flowers.

OK - last one, I have a lot more but I'll spare you!

OK - last one, I have a lot more but I'll spare you!

img_8338

Pop and Sol in front of a sculpture by a famous Brit, Andy Goldsworthy - watch the brief video below to learn more about this amazing artist!

Isn't that beautiful?

Isn't that beautiful?

The gardens were absolutely beautiful - and full of the promise of sunny days ahead!

The gardens were absolutely beautiful - and full of the promise of sunny days ahead!

Buds - everything here is starting to bud!  I love that bright, new, clean green color.

Buds - everything here is starting to bud! I love that bright, new, clean green color.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Art, Edinburgh, Life in Edinburgh, Visitors, Weather and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exploring Edinburgh

  1. Sloane says:

    Some good looking fellows! Looks like the weather has been great for the visit too. Sounds like lots of fun, I’m jealous!

  2. Sol says:

    I had such an awesome time with you guys in Edinburgh…what a cool city!! I love your pictures…sorry these comments are sooo late, I haven’t been on your blog in a while.

Leave a Reply

