Equinox


In celebration of the Spring Equinox, I took the long way to the bookstore this afternoon to document some of the many signs of spring that are popping up everywhere here.  In an encouraging display of optimism, Mother Nature decided that she would bestow a week of mild temps and sunny days on us and that has started off the silent cacophony of sprouting, budding, and bursting!  Here’s some pictures from my walk:

Just starting...

Just starting...

A little further along

A little further along

Little green buds

Little tiny green buds

Almost there!

Almost there!

Bursting!

Bursting!

Gorgeous pink!

Berries

Full bloom!

Full bloom!

I love the fresh little leaves that are SO quickly growing everywhere.

I love the fresh little leaves that are SO quickly growing everywhere.

Hedgerow

New growth on the hedgerow

YES!!!

YES!!! The sign that winter is officially on it's way out the door.

I get really excited about spring.  I think of long walks in the evening and suny early mornings with warm breeze blowing through open windows.  I think of drinking coffee outside at a cafe feeling the sunshine on my back, visiting the Botanical Gardens, visiting Farmer’s Markets, cooking with fresh veggies that are bursting with flavor.  It makes me want to travel, cook, create.  And the irony of it is that in about three weeks I will be officially miserable.  My allergies will flair up and I’ll be cooped up inside, windows tightly closed, feeling awful.  And yet, I always have a great deal of anticipation when it comes to the expectation of spring.  It means new life and hope and a new beginning.  And even though I know I’ll be stuck inside with watery, itchy eyes, runny nose, and scratchy throat, I can’t help but celebrate this yearly ritual of nature putting on her freshest clothes.  

Gorgeous pink

View from Dean Bridge - during these warmer days the air has been really hazy and I can't quite figure out why, unless it's just the earth finally warming up and getting a little steamy.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Exploring Scotland, Life in Edinburgh, photography, Uncategorized, Weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Equinox

  1. Rea Berg says:

    Yes, I think you’re right. Remember how on the Cape we used to call it the spring incubator?
    Any sneezes yet? I hope you sail through this spring sans hay fever! Pop is sneezing pretty regularly here, but everything is blooming like crazy!

Leave a Reply

