Wow what a day! And it ended with something wicked…


Oh my!  Today was amazing!  And my feet are sore but my heart is happy.  Today Scotty and I managed to do the following:

  • Get tickets for a show
  • Enjoy a delicious breakfast grabbed at Pret on our way to the galleries
  • Drink Tim Horton’s Coffee – that was weird to do over here!
  • Visit the National Gallery
  • Have a look at Leister Square
  • Eat lunch at Wagamama
  • Check out the London Coliseum
  • Walk down Fleet Street
  • Check out Somerset House and see Richard Bryant’s amazing photo exhibition – do visit the website!  It’s worth your time.
  • Stumble upon St. Brides Church
  • Visit St. Paul’s Cathedral
  • Check out the Royal High Courts
  • Cross the Millennium Bridge twice
  • Get confused by the exhibits in the Tate Modern
  • Wander through the antique stalls at Covent Gardens
  • See Wicked
  • Enjoy a date at one of our favorite Italian places
  • And, once again, collapse in exhaustion at the end of a very full day!

And here’s the pictures – the funny thing is that I didn’t end up taking very many pictures.  I was too busy taking it all in!  But here’s what I have.  Scotty also took pictures on his camera so I’ll upload those when I’ve transferred them onto my computer.

The London Coliseum

The London Coliseum

The Royal High Courts

The Royal High Courts

Somerset House

Somerset House

Somerset House Fountain

Somerset House Fountain

Somerset House - it's a very interesting building with several levels below the ground floor!

Somerset House - it's a very interesting building with several levels below the ground floor!

St. Brides Church - a Christopher Wren masterpiece

St. Brides Church - a Christopher Wren masterpiece

We stumbled upon St. Bride’s church and were interested to discover that:

  • St. Brides is the eighth church on this site and that Christians have been worshipping here for at least 1500 years!
  • This was where Virginia Dare’s (the first European born in Colonial America) parents were married in 1587.
  • The first printing press with moveable type was brought here and thus St. Brides is often referred to as the Printers Cathedral.
  • During WWII a bomb was dropped on the church revealing the Crypts and you can see pavement that the Romans walked on in them.
  • The St. Brides steeple is the highest spire that Christopher Wren ever built and it was the inspiration for the first tiered wedding cake
  • Milton lived in the Churchyard, Pepys was baptized here, Johnson lived across the road, Dickens lived up the street and King John held several of his councils here!

And we learned all this from a simple sign posted outside!

St. Paul's

St. Paul's

St. Paul's

St. Paul's

More of St. Paul's

More of St. Paul's

Looking back toward St. Paul's from the Millennium Bridge

Looking back toward St. Paul's from the Millennium Bridge

Scotty resting in an exhibit at the Tate Modern

Scotty resting in an exhibit at the Tate Modern

"Art" exhibit at the Tate Modern

"Art" exhibit at the Tate Modern

View of London from the Tate Modern

View of London from the Tate Modern

Can you find me in this picture?

Can you find me in this picture?

There I am on the Millennium Bridge...I'm wearing a green jacket.

There I am on the Millennium Bridge...I'm wearing a green jacket.

Scotty on Millennium Bridge

Scotty on Millennium Bridge

And can I just say that both Scotty and I need some sun?  Seriously.

Riverboat tour on the Thames

Riverboat tour on the Thames - which frankly, looks miserable to me...

The Apollo Victoria Theatre

The Apollo Victoria Theatre

Inside the theater where we saw Wicked

Inside the theater where we saw Wicked

And for those of you who haven’t seen it, go out and get tickets!  I’m not trying to be pushy but if you have the opportunity to see this show – go! It’s so entertaining! And it’s such a fun show to go to.  I know it’s not high opera or sophisticated drama, but it’s clever, funny, well-done…and so imaginative.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Art, Cultural Difference, Exploring the UK, Food, London, Mini-break, Museums, photography, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wow what a day! And it ended with something wicked…

  1. Hilary says:

    That is so cool you went and saw Wicked! Jimmy and I saw that when we were living in Chicago, we too thought it was super fun. So when Heather came to visit, Jimmy took her to see it, while I babysat Ben. Then, just a couple weeks ago, Jim and Robin took all of us to see it here in Portland. So Jimmy has actually seen it three times!!!! I tease him about that a lot:) I’m glad you enjoyed it, it is very clever. Such a fun spin on the familiar story. Great pictures!!

Leave a Reply

