Last day in London


Well today we’re wrapping up our break here in one of my favorite cities.  The past couple of days have only increased my affection for this place and I’m eager to return again.  Scotty and I feel like we’ve done a lot but there are still so many places I want to show him and other places we both want to see for the first time.  

Today we walked through Westminster – a lovely enclave that seems to be a bit quieter.  Despite my many visits to the city I had never stepped foot in Harrods and decided that this was now the time to do it!  I had a very specific item I was looking for and had been tipped off that I might find it in the Harrods Food Hall.  Oh my gosh!  The Food Halls were amazing!  I could have spent hours there looking at all the fun ingredients, getting inspired to cook something new and exotic.  Besides stocking beautiful produce and fun ingredients, Harrods is full of mini-restaurants: there is a seafood bar that looked delectable – oysters, lobster, snow crab, a caviar bar, a sushi bar, a gelato bar, a huge fine chocolate display, coffee and tea bars, champagne buffets, a nice jambon charcuterie, cheese hall, seriously anything indulgent you could want – you’ll find it there with plenty variety!  And the halls are immaculate, shiny, and the service extremely friendly.  Scotty and I went to the tea room and had a cappuccino and croissant while we planned out our day.  The funny thing was that in the midst of all this abundance, they didn’t have the item I was looking for!  Oh well – it was still a feast for the eyes.  We did get a couple sandwiches to enjoy for lunch later and I checked out the cookware section.  Is it telling that I skipped the clothes, shoes, handbags, makeup, and just checked out the pots and pans?  I mean this is Harrods – am I missing part of the “girl code” in my dna?  I was too shy to take pictures inside but I found a fellow blogger who took some great pictures on his visit, so if you’re curious check it out here.

Anyway, after a little while it was a bit overwhelming…so we headed out with our sandwiches and made our way to the Victoria and Albert museum.  I love this museum – the building, the quiet, the displays.  I’ve only been here twice and the last time was in 2001 but I’ve been wanting to come back ever since and was happy to be able to bring Scotty here.

The famous V&A

The famous V&A

I love this place!

I love this place! We ate our Harrod's sandwiches there and watched the people walk by.

Scotty and I were thrilled to find some Chihuly in the Lobby!  And the guard let us take a picture of it!

Scotty and I were thrilled to find some Chihuly in the Lobby! And the guard let us take a picture of it!

 Following our stroll through the Medieval England and Changing Fashion exhibits, we decided to stroll through more of Westminster and head to Hyde Park.  It was a really pretty day – cloudy but with spots of sun and it was warm.  It was a bank holiday and so there were lots of people in the park but it was still quiet.  I love that about the parks here.  They’re so enormous and so they rarely never feel crowded. 

Albert Memorial in Hyde Park

Albert Memorial in Hyde Park

Scotty and I found an empty bench on the Serpentine and watched people in paddle boats.  We also got a kick out of the waterfowl.  There was one bird that would dive under the water and then scare another bird by jabbing at its legs.  Basically the one bird would disappear and a few seconds later the poor victim was bouncing all over the water trying to get away from his assailant.  It was hilarious!

Scotty and I found an empty bench on the Serpentine and watched people in paddle boats. We also got a kick out of the waterfowl. There was one bird that would dive under the water and then scare another bird by jabbing at its legs. Basically the one bird would disappear and a few seconds later the poor victim was bouncing all over the water trying to get away from his assailant. It was hilarious!

Paddlers on the Serpentine.

Paddlers on the Serpentine.

View from the bridge.

View from the bridge.

Looking down towards the main part of London.

Looking down towards the main part of London.

Trees in bloom everywhere.

Trees in bloom everywhere.

And the new growth on the trees was absolutely vibrant.

And the new growth on the trees was absolutely vibrant.

I made Scotty stand in front of this tree to show you how huge it was!

I made Scotty stand in front of this tree to show you how huge it was!

I mean - is it just me or is that impressively large for a flowering tree?

I mean - is it just me or is that impressively large for a flowering tree?

And the strange thing was that it had these flowers on it...

And the strange thing was that it had these flowers on it...

and these!  So it was two different trees that grew up entwined with one another.

and these! So it was two different trees that grew up entwined with one another.

Can't get enough of the treed walkways!

Can't get enough of the treed walkways!

And what a great memory for this little kid...riding a horse on the old horse paths through Hyde Park on a beautiful spring day!

And what a great memory for this little kid...riding a horse on the old horse paths through Hyde Park on a beautiful spring day!

After our hour in the park it was time to head back to the hotel, pick up our bags, take the Metro to Victoria, the train to Gatwick, and catch our flight home.  It was such a wonderful weekend and it was so full!  We both have so many great memories of our time with the Manors and our time together in London.  I think we’ll probably be back – hopefully sooner than later.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Art, Cooking, Exploring the UK, flowers, Food, London, Mini-break, Museums, photography, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Last day in London

  1. marty says:

    Looks like spring is breaking forth in London! What a unique city. Just looking at the Hyde Park monument makes me think of a 19th c. novel.

    by the way, what’s Chihuhy? or the stuff on the ‘chandelier’ inside that bldg?

    much love (and if I can help find that rare ingredient here in exotic Seattle, let me know!),
    marty:)

    • Rebecca says:

      Hey Marty, Thanks for the comment! Dale Chihuly is an artist who does amazing glass sculpture. Scotty and I first heard about him when he did a permanent installation at the Missouri Botanical Gardens. I loved what he did there. He integrated his whimsical sculptures into the garden – big, colorful, glass balls in the lily pond, red spikes of glass in the green house, etc. His works adds a levity to the gardens and I find it very creative. He’s created several of these chandeliers that you see in this post and we’re always happy to see them. You can read more about him here: http://www.chihuly.com/

  2. Bethy Manor says:

    I too like the Chihuly glass – stunning! Kind of like Susan Boyle’s performance – thanks so much for including that in your blog – I absolutely loved her…

  3. Cindy says:

    I also was struck by the beautiful glass sculpture (however I don’t remember seeing his work at the Missouri Botanical Gardens way back in ’88)!
    Fascinating tree Rebecca! And, no it wasn’t just you; that tree was humongous!

Leave a Reply

