Dale Chihuly


In my last post on London I mentioned that there was a Chihuly at the V&A and my sister-in-law asked what I was talking about.  As my St. Louis readers know, Dale Chihuly is an artist who works primarily with glass.  I fell for his whimsical work when he did an installation at the Missouri Botanical Gardens and am always happy to stumble upon his work -which  Scotty and I have  in various cities in our travels and it always makes me smile and think about the MOBOT exhibit – which you can read about here.  I loved walking through the Missouri Botanical Garden and seeing his sculptures which always added a pop of color and fun.  And I find that he does a very good job of integrating his work with the surrounding landscapes.  It enhances it – and is never jarring.  Here’s some pictures from the MO Gardens:

Glass sculpture hanging from the bridge in the Japanese Garden at MOBOT.

Glass sculpture hanging from the bridge in the Japanese Garden at MOBOT.

Glass bulbs in the Lily Pond at MOBOT.

Glass bulbs in the Lily Pond at MOBOT.

Here’s a video on Chihuly:

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in architecture, Art, Back in the States, Museums, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dale Chihuly

  1. fionaeason says:

    I just stumbled across this post…and your lovely blog. I am a Kiwi living in St Louis who LOVES MOBOT…and was sad to say goodbye to it this morning, we will be in St Andrews, Scotland next week to start a new chapter of our lives…so as a member of a Kiwi/British/Irish/US family in the north, I will be checking in here from time to time to see if you have some musings to inspire our Scottish adventures! Nice to meet you.

Leave a Reply

