Sunday in the park


This past Sunday Scotty and I managed to drag ourselves out of bed at 7:30 (despite a very late night – I don’t think we went to bed until around 1:30) and made it to the early morning service at our church, St. Pauls and St. Georges, commonly known as Ps & Gs.  We have about a 20 minute walk to church and on this Sunday it was beautiful!  Not exactly warm, but there were those first hints of summer in the air.

After church we had coffee at Maison Rouge and enjoyed reading the paper and the fact that it was 10:30AM and we had our whole day in front of us.  Scotty had some work to do up at school so I headed back to the flat.  But as it got sunnier and sunnier, I packed up my reading and made my way to the Dean Gallery.  The best thing about the Dean Gallery is the huge lawn in front of it.

The Dean Gallery

The Dean Gallery

The lawn in front of the Dean.

The lawn in front of the Dean.

I settled myself on the lawn and enjoyed the warm sunshine while I read about President Obama’s first 100 days in office.  It was so lovely to kick off my shoes, roll up my sleeves and feel the warmth of the sun on my skin.  I think I even dozed off a one point.  Glorious!  Here’s my view from where I was sitting:

Bare feet in April!

Bare feet in April!

After a couple of hours on the lawn, I made my way to the grocery store to pick up some things for dinner.  Funnily enough as I was walking to the store I got a call from Scotty who was also headed there!  So we met up and picked up a few things for dinner.  We cooked lamb with mini potato gratins – I’ll post the recipes soon because the gratins are delicious.  On my way down to the store I came across these beautiful tulips:

Tulips

Tulips

All in all it was a beautiful, restful Sabbath.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, flowers, Life in Edinburgh, Museums, photography, Thoughts, Weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday in the park

  1. Rea Berg says:

    Hey beautiful feet girl!
    Lovely description of a perfect sabbath and I’m delighted to see you actually enjoying spring. This is the biggest miracle!
    Thank you Lord!
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

