Weekend Roundup


This weekend I was fighting a fierce cold – the kind that comes with that really phlemy cough and drippy nose.  Oh yes, I was the picture of beauty this weekend, if you’re into the chapped nose, pale, anemic look.  For a few terrible hours I thought that it was my allergies finally coming back to haunt me, but, thankfully, it progressed and became a full-blown cold, for which I was very grateful.  I basically spent Friday doing nothing and feeling awful, so by the time Saturday rolled around I was ready to do something, anything.  Scotty and I decided to take a couple of hours and walk around the West End and get to know our neighborhood a little better.  It really is charming – there are lots of independent boutiques, sandwich shops, restaurants, and pubs.  

Colorful Store Fronts

Colorful Store Fronts

Cute Signs

Cute Signs

Colorful hanging baskets outside the pub.

Colorful hanging baskets outside the pub.

St. Mary's sits right in the middle of the West End and provides a dramatic backdrop.

St. Mary's sits right in the middle of the West End and provides a dramatic backdrop.

This pathway runs next to St. Mary's and I always find it charming.

This pathway runs next to St. Mary's and I always find it charming.

And how funny is this?  First, the name: Boobytrap!  And since when do you want to be fitted for a bra and get a piece of cake at the same time?

And how funny is this? First, the name: Boobytrap! And since when do you want to be fitted for a bra and get a piece of cake at the same time?

We were also feeling a bit celebratory because Scotty had just received word that he was awarded a scholarship to allow him to study French in Paris for a month this summer!  So, while we have to iron out the details, it looks like we will be spending July in Paris…if we ever get our passports back 🙂  In honor of that, we decided to eat here:

Le Marche Francais

Le Marché Français

It was delicious, if a bit on the rich side.  But it whetted our appetite for all things French and really got us excited about this possibility.  After that we went home and finally watched Slumdog Millionaire – which we both enjoyed.

Sunday was appropriately sunny and I decided to once again spend the afternoon sitting on the Dean Gallery Lawn.  It was absolutely gorgeous!

3541827649_3ac866072e

3542631326_75b8e381bc

3541829275_4d1fbd0bcb

 As I hadn’t accomplished anything on Friday, I decided to take my work with me and get something done while I topped up my severely low supply of Vitamin D.  And as I was sitting there I had one of those eye-opening moments where I realized I had become my mother!  And it made me smile.  My mom and I share a love of sunshine and a guilt-complex that makes it difficult to just enjoy relaxing (we’re both working on the latter feature).  I cannot tell you how many times my mom was up against some deadline but the call of a warm sunny day was too hard to ignore.  She’d pack up her papers, books, notes, etc. and head out in search of a warm spot to spread out her stuff and get some work done in the sunshine.  And there she’d sit, books and papers tucked under anything handy to keep them from flying away.  It was really funny for me to look down and realize that not only was I working in the sun just like my mom, I was sitting in the same position she often sits in (one leg extended, one tucked in)!

3541835153_699ea14f2f

It was a very fun moment for me.  Wish you could have been there to share it with me, Mom!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Life in Edinburgh, Museums, Paris, photography, Weather, West End and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekend Roundup

  1. I love your pictures of William Street, beautiful angle. Alison

  2. audrey says:

    Great pix of your cute neighborhood…it is colorful and fun! Am so glad you get to spend July in Paris. Cannot wait to see how your cooking changes then! Love that you are just like your momma…even the position in the sun! Take care – you are loved and prayed for here in STL!

  3. Rea Berg says:

    Thank you for the sweet post and “the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree” reminder! While I can’t say that loving the sun is a great trait you’ve inherited from me, I am glad you are still loving books and writing!
    You are a gifted writer! It also does make me happy when I hear of people enjoying books along with the sun!! Funny . . . maybe that comes from NEVER EVER going to the beach without a book in hand! On another note, I really do think you should start a cooking blog “An American in Edinburgh Cooks, or some such thing and then you could have recipes from different cities etc. With the literary component (literary works from the area you happen to be) it could really be good! Love you and miss you!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

