Stuffed Peppers and Stuffed Eggplant


3657165622_06f6ff9ff9

This recipe is going to be a bit chaotic because I was a bit crazy when I was making it.  Basically I got home yesterday and saw what I had in the fridge and thought I would try making some red lentils I had hanging around.  I could have sworn I had the lentils but they were nowhere to be found so this is what I came up with.  Oh and I should mention these could be completely vegetarian and/or vegan!

Stuffed Peppers and Eggplant

  • 1 yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 4-5 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed
  • 1 medium red chili, halved and thinly sliced
  • 4-5 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1½ cups orzo, cooked until al dente
  • 1 chopped tomato
  • 2-3 tablespoons tomato paste
  • ¼-½ cup chopped fennel (I would have used more if I had it though)
  • smokey paprika (I used about 1-2 tablespoons)
  • cumin seed (maybe 1 teaspoon)
  • fennel seed (maybe 1 teaspoon)
  • ground nutmeg, (maybe ½ teaspoon)
  • cayenne (to taste)
  • 1 cube vegetable or chicken bullion dissolved in 1½ cups hot water
  • 2-5 peppers (I only had two but there was a lot of rice and it could have easily filled more)
  • 1-3 eggplants (if you’re only doing eggplants you could probably make around 3-4)
  • chopped parsley (optional)
  • low-fat sour cream (optional)
  • cooking oil
  • olive oil

Preheat oven to 180°C/350°F. Saute the onion, chili and garlic in saucepan until they begin to become tender.  I did add a little bit of butter here to enhance the flavor but that is entirely optional.  I’m trying to clean out my fridge before we leave for Paris and was dumping things in left and right.

3657160062_e1836db704

Add the spices – just eyeball it.  I put approximate measurements but I really have no idea.

3656368741_a7cfdb7daf

Saute for about a minute to allow the flavors to mix and then add the rice.  Stir to mix and heat through.  I used Uncle Ben’s pre-cooked brown rice so I needed let the kernels separate and heat through.  If you’re using freshly made rice you won’t need to do this.  Just stir to mix.  Next dump in the orzo.

3657216632_2b76f94988

Stir through and add the tomato paste.  Add the chopped tomato and fennel.  Next slowly pour in the stock and stir frequently until liquid is absorbed.  While waiting for liquid to absorb prepare your veggies.  For the peppers I just cut out the stems and reserved them to replace once peppers were stuffed.  I pulled out the membranes, seeds and then rinsed the insides.  For the eggplant I cut off the stem and halved it and scraped out the insides.  For the stuffed eggplant I chopped up the flesh I had scraped out and added it to the rice and allowed it to cook for a few minutes to soften it before stuffing the eggplant.

Once the liquid is absorbed your rice should look something like this:

3657163906_0e1ecab0ed

Taste and add any seasoning if necessary.  Stuff the peppers and replace the tops.  At this point I put some olive oil in my hand and rubbed the peppers so that the skin was well oiled.  For the eggplant I did the same thing and then stuffed them.  I just stuffed each hollowed out half and them rolled them toward each other to minimize spillage.  Place veggies in a glass baking dish.  Bake for about 30-45 minutes until veggies are soft.

3657167688_5aaa5ac300

I served the eggplant with a little sour cream and chopped parsley.  Enjoy.

3657172430_15260dd3d3

3657172736_bbbebe8ac9

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Edinburgh, Food, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stuffed Peppers and Stuffed Eggplant

  1. Bethy J says:

    Can’t wait to try…I have been on the lookout for healthy recipes for the eggplant growing in my garden…Thanks!

Leave a Reply

