Beccaroons


MmmmmmMmmmm

MmmmmmMmmmm

Giggle, giggle. I amuse myself sometimes.  Yes, I’m calling this recipe Beccaroons – mostly because I don’t really know what else to call them and I’m always up for some sort of wordplay.  These little bite-sized bundles are delicious!  They’re crisp and chewy and delicate and buttery and I thought they would be great to share on a Monday morning!  I found the recipe in one of my charity shop cookbooks that I’ve been collecting, changed it up here and there and I really like it.  And it’s relatively easy.  I also picked up a cheapo kitchen scale this week and am now cooking by weight instead of in cups and tablespoons – and I love it!  I would highly recommend it.  It makes things a lot easier and I think a bit more precise, especially when it comes to baking.  I am writing both measurements in the recipe below – just be sure to chose one and stick with it, either ounces or grams, otherwise it won’t work.

Beccaroons

  • 50 grams (2 oz) ground almonds
  • 125 g (4 oz) caster/finely granulated sugar
  • 2 egg whites

Coffee Butter Frosting

  • 40 grams (1½ ounces) butter
  • 40 grams (1½ ounces) icing/powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon milk
  • 1-2 teaspoons coffee flavoring – for this I just dissolved a heaping teaspoon or two of instant coffee crystals in some hot water

Preheat the oven to 150°C (300°F).  Mix together the ground almonds and caster sugar.

3670747931_c191137dcf

Beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form.  Gently fold the almond and sugar mixture into the egg whites.

3671539496_b1bf1830ec

It will form a sticky, somewhat doughy, but still fluffy mixture.  Place mixture into a piping bag (I just put it into a ziplock and snipped a corner off – it’s best to start with a tiny hole and increase the size as needed) and pipe on to a cookie sheet lined with parchment/baking paper.

3670732905_a8d5f7b459

Form little 1-1½ circles.  You can put them pretty close on the baking sheet because they won’t expand a lot.  Bake for 12-15 minutes until lightly browned.  Remove from oven and allow to set a couple of minutes.  If you try to pull them off the parchment too quickly the center of the cookie will stay behind.  But don’t wait too long or the whole cookie will stick.  Let cookies cool on a rack.

To make the icing beat the butter until soft.  Gradually add in the powdered sugar until light and fluffy.  Add the dash of milk and mix well.  Next gradually add the coffee flavoring.  I sort of taste as I go because I like the coffee flavor to be present but not overwhelming. Mix well – should be nice and fluffy and have a pretty café a lait color.

Once the cookies are cooled you can begin assembling them.  Just ice the bottom of one and top with another of similar size.  Enjoy!

3670735531_cf9a169ae3

3670736529_f5517c290f

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Coffee, Cooking, Entertainment, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beccaroons

  1. Katie says:

    YUM! So did you actually grind the almonds?

    • Rebecca says:

      Hey Katie – I actually was able to buy ground almonds at Sainsbury’s! I think it’s a pretty common ingredient over here so you should be able to add it to your Tesco order!

  2. Leah Turchin says:

    Yum yum! Thank you so much for posting this and giving such great instructions, and visuals! I am waiting for that book to come out in a few years!

Leave a Reply

