Dinner on the Seine


3683249437_0f56919605

As it’s been quite warm since we arrived here, Scotty and I have kept the sightseeing to a minimum – venturing out in the mornings and evenings, keeping a low profile.  Tonight our outing involved a picnic dinner on the Seine.  We joined what seemed like half of Paris down on the banks of this iconic waterway.  Our landlord had warned us that the best way to escape the heat is to get down to the river and so we joined the Arbos with our baguettes, cheeses, charcuterie, and fresh fruit and soaked in the charm drenched atmosphere.  I mean seriously, these are the moments where Francophelia runs high and you start talking about living life at a more humane pace, enjoying the simpler pleasures – it’s all so prosaic.  We sat out there for several hours and watched the sidewalks fill with fellow picnickers – some people danced, others arrived in costumes, boats passed by, people flirted, talked, laughed, opened another bottle of wine.  There was absolutely no pressure to go do something – and there was a thankful lack of post-picnic frisbee games.  It was ideal and something we’re hoping to do a lot more over the next few weeks.  And to add to the fun, beginning July 14th the north side of the Seine will be turned into a beach complete with sand, cabanas, palm trees, the works!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Paris. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dinner on the Seine

  1. patty says:

    I’m right there with you – thank you for letting me live vicariously through you! The lights on the Seine were dazzling, the warm air was lovely and listening to all the french chatter lulled me to sleep….lol

  2. POP says:

    Dang…your tales and pics are killing me.
    My travel fantasy on blog. Is this stay in Paris more fun than your first trip there?
    😉 Can’t imagine.
    Love, POP

    • Rebecca says:

      Hey Pop! Actually this trip is making me appreciate even more the trip when you and Mom took all four of us. That had to have been more work than I ever imagined! Thanks for doing that – I have so many special memories from that time.

  3. Sol says:

    I remember reading about how they change the banks of the Seine into a beach, sounds pretty cool! Be sure to post plenty of pictures of that once it occurs….I’m sure the French will be displaying some shocking swimwear choices.

Leave a Reply

