Happy 4th of July!


I love the 4th of July!  When I lived in Cape Cod we had these fantastic celebrations with parades, epic water balloon fights, picnics, cook-outs, and fireworks and bonfires on the beach.  My family had instituted a water balloon fight that made the news each year and left the streets littered with the skins of thousands of balloons (which we conscientiously picked up).  Those Cape Cod Independence Day celebrations were about as perfectly Americana as you can get – lots of flags, bunting, patriotic speeches.  My all-time favorite 4th was 2004.  Scotty was spending the summer on Cape Cod and our friends Luke and Julie were visiting and jumped right in to all the celebrations.  Since then I’ve been out of the US more than I’ve been in it!  Since getting married Scotty and I spent our first married 4th in Spain and Gibraltar.  We were on our honeymoon and decided to drive from Seville down to Gibraltar to check out the “Rock.” As we passed through border control and the British guard saw our passports and wished us a “Happy Independence Day!”  The following two years saw us sweating it out in St. Louis – I’m not remembering a lot about them except that one year Scotty had to work one year and the other year was spent with friends at a cookout.  Last year we were in Scotland and the day went by pretty unnoticed, which is sad.  This year we’re, obviously, in Paris.  It’s turning out to be a gorgeous day as I write this.  Scotty and I are sipping coffee in our little birdhouse and planning our day.  We’re going to be exploring the neighborhoods to the north of us along the right bank.  But I wanted to wish you all a very happy 4th of July!  I loved reading about some of your favorite traditions in the Give-Away post.  If you haven’t registered yet, get your names in there and you could be the proud new owner of some beautiful cards AND a surprise from Paris!

And, in case you were thinking that this whole Paris this is just a bit too idyllic (which I completely admit it is) here’s a little visual of the stairway we have to climb multiple times each day!  And yesterday I went grocery shopping and was hauling home my loot – including a 5 pound bag of potatoes – when I realized my key didn’t work!  So I had climbed all those stairs in the heat only to have to descend, go find Scotty, get his keys, and make the hike all over again!

These pics are taken from the bottom of the stairway, looking up:

3686847578_7c93469d59

3686848868_ff08587043

3686847578_7c93469d59

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Paris and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy 4th of July!

  1. ashleyc says:

    i am late to get in on the action, but i wanted to say hi! it seems that you guys are living quite the life overseas! your pictures are stunning and beautiful. i very much want to take ben to europe–he’s been all over the world, but never to my favorite spot! watching the tour de france always makes me long to walk those ancient picturesque streets again…anyways, our fourth of july tradition is to run the peachtree road race every fourth of july morning…this year was my slowest race of any of the ten times i’ve run it (i’m blaming it on my bulging 5 months’ pregnant belly) but it was lovely weather and still a lot of fun! reece and i were too worn out for fireworks this year, but that usually follows a family cookout every year, too! i hope you guys are soaking up your time over there! i love keeping up with you through your blog!

  2. ashleyc says:

    oops and i wrote in the wrong post…i’ll paste it over there, too!

  3. POP says:

    Your pictures here depict your stairwell as some sort of strange torturing devise. Maybe after two quick ascents it is!

Leave a Reply

