Free Sunday!


In the Jardin deTuileries

In the Jardin de Tuileries

As many of you know all the museums in Paris are free on the first Sunday of each month.  We decided to take advantage of this with Matthew and Ashli and, despite a late night, dragged ourselves out of bed and were in line at the Louvre before the huge crowds invaded.  The Louvre is AMAZING!  I read somewhere that if you spent 30 seconds looking at each of the 35,000 works of art on display at that Louvre it would take thirteen 24-hour days – and that’s not leaving time to walk from one display to the next – and obviously you’d have to stay up for 13 days in a row which I think is a medical impossibility.  I had visited the Louvre with my family in 1998 and seen the Mona Lisa, Venus de Milo and the antique statuary wing so I struck out on my own and headed toward the displays on Mesopotamia, Antique Iran, Pharaonic Egypt, Pre-classical Greece, Terracotta and Greek Ceramics.  I’m always a sucker for seeing dishes and cookware from any age and was not disappointed.  I saw the Code of Hammurabi, Ramses II, Capital of Apadana, lots of amazing little terracotta figurines, some amazingly detailed gold jewelry, and much much more.  By 11:30 the museum was a hot, slightly smelly, mass of people and we decided to strike out for less crowded surroundings.  Walking through the Jardin du Carrousel and Tuileries we then went to Musée de L’Orangerie where Monet’s vast panels of water lilies are displayed.  They were gorgeous!  There is something about seeing these painting on a large scale that is a bit mesmerizing.  They’re so tranquil and l’Orangerie was quiet and uncrowded.  We also saw some beautiful paintings from  Derain and Gauguin.  After that we grabbed some lunch and then walked over to the Champs-Élysées, made our way down this famous street (that I just don’t really like) to the Arc de Triomphe.  I love the Arc.  There is something so bold about it and climbing up all those steps is totally worth the view – especially if you sit there for a little while and watch the traffic.  We didn’t climb up it on this visit but will return some evening.  After a bit of a rest we hopped on the metro and made our way back to our neighborhood, stopping at a restaurant to watch Wimbledon.  I didn’t stay for the whole match but Scotty did and boy was it worth it!  Here’s some pics from the day.

We ended the night with a walk through a part of our neighborhood we haven’t explored very much and treated ourselves to some amazing gelato.  There is this little place on the Rue Moufftard that makes the sort of gelato you would do evil things just to get your hands on some…thankfully you don’t have to do anything you’d regret – just hand over your €2,50 and you’re handed a little cone that’s as beautiful as it’s delicious.

My cone - pink grapefruit and dark chocolate.  Almost too pretty to eat.

My cone - pink grapefruit and dark chocolate. Almost too pretty to eat.

Scotty's cone, coffee and dark chocolate.  It tasted like a super creamy coffee truffle.

Scotty's cone, coffee and dark chocolate. It tasted like a super creamy coffee truffle.

Scotty enjoying his cone!

Scotty enjoying his cone!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Art, Food, Museums, Paris, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Free Sunday!

  1. Leah Turchin says:

    All I can say is Wow! You are having an awesome time and still have a good amount of time to go! 🙂 is there any way to access your pictures through flicker? or in slideshow form on this blog? I would love to see them large, but if I do that with each one, it takes forever to get back to the page and then click on the next picture? THanks for posting your travels, just beautiful! (and good job getting more pictures of you in there! 🙂

    • Rebecca says:

      Hey Leah! Thanks for the comments. I’m trying to post more pictures with people in them 🙂 Yes, you can view our pictures on flickr if you go over to the sidebar on the right, scroll down until you see a set of three pictures above the map. At the bottom of the pictures click on “here” and it will take you to our flickr page. On the flickr page there is a sidebar on the right where the pictures are divided into sets, just choose a set and you’ll be able to click through them much more quickly than on the blog. Let me know if you have any problems! Can’t wait to see you over here – then I’ll get to post pictures of beautiful you 🙂

  2. Sloane says:

    As much as I love you guys, I’m going to have to stop reading your blog. I am so jealous at this point that I can no longer control it! 😀

  3. POP says:

    Dear Sloane,
    Believe me you are in good company. As much as we love THEM, it is a little difficult to bear. It all looks just too perfect, much like a fairy tale, just the snaps alone…I can taste and smell and see and hear Paris as if I were there, but sadly not. But then again it is Paris (at least the best parts). Take it to God, for me too, and he will heal us of our cravings to be in their place.;-) and we’ll all be content!!!
    It is nice to see they are getting a little color on their cheeks.

  4. Tatiana says:

    That gelato looks AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS!!!! (slurp! slurp!) It is so pretty too!! Those are some very unique old pictures of statues!! Miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

