I love this country!


From the wrapper of the package of butter I bought at the store: “Breakfast is very important.  Nutritionists recommend you eat a breakfast of bread with butter and a cup of coffee or juice.”  How awesome is it that butter comes with a nutritionists recommendation on it!?!  And the people here are still skinny!  I wonder if eating the described breakfast for the next month will make me svelt and chic?  Maybe it will give me that certain “Je n’est ce pas” that seems to be the birthright of every Parisian woman? Hey, I’m thinkin’ it’s worth a try.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Paris and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I love this country!

  1. Sloane says:

    So funny! my french family blamed my weight gain while I was there on my breakfasts – which consisted of two tiny pieces of bread with butter. Theirs consisted of cigarettes and coffee. I’m pretty sure I gained weight cause I ate my way through each and every day with pleasure…. (yes, btw, they brough up the fact that I had put on a couple LBs….tres gentil, non? et tres francais.)

    • Rebecca says:

      Oh dear! So much for my hypothesis. Seems like my two choices for getting this French chic-ness are either butter or cigarettes. Which do you think is better for you? 🙂
      And lovely that your host family made you feel so much like one of the family – seriously commenting on a couple pounds! Wow. Oui, tres gentil!

Leave a Reply

