Potato Vinaigrette


Potato Vinaigrette

Potato Vinaigrette

This is my favorite potato salad – I like it because it’s good warm, cold, at picnics, and is mayo-free!  Yay!  The vinaigrette is a variation on my mom’s best salad dressing – just a bit lighter and no garlic.  I came up with it as an alternative to the traditional potato salad and haven’t gone back!  I hope you enjoy.  Also, in the pictures of this batch you’ll see that I only used one variety of potato but it’s a lot of fun to use a mixture of colors: red, yellow, blue!

Potato Vinaigrette (Serves 6-10)

  • 5 pounds potatoes, the best varieties to use are those with a creamy texture and slightly sweet flavor such as fingerling, yukon gold, klondike rose, etc.
  • 1 pound haricot verts or extra thin green beans, ends removed
  • 2-3 packages grape tomatoes, halved lengthwise
  • 4-5 green onions
  • 1 bunch flat leaf parsley
  • dijon mustard (the best brand is Maille as it has a much fuller flavor and is not so strong on the vinegar)
  • rice or cider vinegar
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • salt
  • sugar

Bring two pots of salted water to boil.  Scrub the potatoes and cut in to similar sized pieces to they cook evenly.  You don’t have to do all the potato chopping now, just the rough cut.  Once water has boiled add the potatoes to one pan and the green beans to another.  The green beans only need to cook for about 2-3 minutes.  They should be tender-crisp with a good amount of bite left and will have turned bright green.  One the beans are cooked remove from heat and pass quickly through an ice bath so that they stop cooking.  Don’t leave them for a long time in the ice bath as they’ll lose a lot of their flavor and nutrients.  Cut beans in half.

I love these things!

I love these things!

Once the potatoes are done cooking, rinse in cool water.  You can now cut them into bite sized pieces.  I like them to be big bites!

3712194637_81b272089c

Potatoes all ready.

For the vinaigrette I start with a good scoop of mustard.  Drizzle in vinegar while whisking to create an emulsion.  Continue whisking while adding olive oil.  I usually do this by taste and the best way to test it is dip one of those delicious green beans in it.  Add salt and sugar to season as necessary.  If it’s too strong I add more olive oil and a little sugar – to weak top up the dijon and vinegar.

Dressing

Dressing

Thinly slice 4-5 green onions and some parsley.  Check out these crazy big green onions I got at the market:

Whoa baby!

Whoa baby!

Add the green onions and parsley to potatoes.

Almost there...

Almost there...

Dump on those green beans and tomatoes.  Top with vinaigrette and toss to coat.  And if you’re anything like me, you’re going to take a big bite to make sure it’s OK!  Enjoy.

Yummy!  Yummy!  Yummy!  I do think I could eat this every day...

Yummy! Yummy! Yummy! I do think I could eat this every day...

© Rebecca Manor, 2009

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Potato Vinaigrette

  1. Ashli says:

    I love this potato salad! It’s super yummy!

  2. Sol says:

    Looks delicious, I’m definitely going to make it this weekend!

  3. Sol says:

    I made this last night for some friends, and everyone loved it. They were soo worried when they heard potato salad, but were heartily reassured when I told them it was mayo-free! Thanks for the great recipe!

Leave a Reply

