Exploring


Arc de Triomphe

Arc de Triomphe

Today Scotty and I decided to just explore.  We really didn’t have a plan when we left but we caught a metro up to Place de Concorde and decided to wander around.  Luckily we came upon the Petit Palais, a beautiful building with a varied collection that includes the largest public display of Eastern Orthodox icons as well as painting from 1920s Paris.  The building itself was built for the 1900 World Fair and has gorgeous panels showing scenes from early 20th century Paris; they’re charming.  We spent a couple hours wandering through, soaking up the antiquities, iconic, and 20th century collections.  One more thing about the museum that makes it so attractive is that it is quiet – not the bustling, hectic, chaotic scene of the more popular museums.  We  shared the space with a few other tourists and several groups of young school children on field trips.  And it was free!  And had a great air-conditioning system, a rarity in this city.

Petit Palais

Petit Palais

Inside the main gallery of the Petit Palais.

Inside the main gallery of the Petit Palais.

One of the gorgeous stairways inside.

One of the gorgeous stairways inside.

Portrain of Sarah Bernhardt

Portrait of Sarah Bernhardt by Georges Clairin

Such an elegant painting - but I forgot to write down the artist.  Sorry!

Such an elegant painting - but I forgot to write down the artist. Sorry!

Following the Petit Palais we decided to head down the Champs Elysees and visit the Arc.  We walked past the famous Ladurée, home of the world’s best (and most expensive) macaroons…or so I hear.  Since my dear friends Bethy, Sloane, and Julie aren’t here and my sisters are 8000 miles away, I decided to forgo dragging Scotty to high tea here.

Interesting juxtaposition - extravagant foofoo and a gypsie.

Interesting juxtaposition - extravagant frufru and a gypsy.

Gorgeous macaroons...mmm.mmmm.

Gorgeous macaroons...mmm.mmmm.

We also wandered into the Toyoto showroom and saw some interesting cars.  I had to indulge Scotty with a trip in here after he peeked into Ladurée with me.

Toyota prototype.

Toyota prototype.

Another flashy prototype.  Pretty cool looking.

Another flashy prototype. Pretty cool looking.

Finally we ended up at the Arc.  The line to climb up it was long and I’d already been up twice, once with Scotty.  So we decided to just hang out in the middle.

Eiffel Tower peeking through the arches.

Eiffel Tower peeking through the arches.

My honey at that Arc.

My honey at that Arc.

Scotty always makes me laugh when he's taking my picture.

Scotty always makes me laugh when he's taking my picture.

Detail from the arc.

Detail from the arc.

It's just so cool.  I love this monument!

It's just so cool. I love this monument!

:-)

🙂

The top of the inside of the arc.

The top of the inside of the arc.

Oh.  And one last picture.  This one is back from our walk down the Champs and it’s for our dear friend, Glen.

Hey.

Hey.

Following our explorations we met up with our friends and has the most amazing meal we’ve had since we arrived.  It wasn’t French, but it was amazing Turkish food and I’m completely inspired to try some new things with my cooking.  Any tips from anyone who cooks Turkish?????  The restaurant, in case you’re wondering is Le Risale.  Yum.  Yum.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Art, Food, Museums, Paris, photography, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

