I think this may have been my favorite day…(Part II)


The Thinker

The Thinker

Following our explorations of St. Denis we hopped on the metro and made our way to Musée Rodin.  A friend of Clemence’s had recommended it at her dinner party and I was anxious to visit.  Rodin was the sculptor of “the Thinker” and “the Kiss” – probably two of the most famous 19th century sculptures and I wanted to see them in person.  The great thing about this museum is that is contains a vast collection of Rodin’s works in a gorgeous setting, as well as a few random Monets, Van Goghs, and other landmark pieces.  The building is a gorgeous manor house nestled into the Invalides area and is quiet and welcoming.

Scotty with the Thinker

Scotty with the Thinker

Me with the Thinker

Me with the Thinker

It really is a striking sculpture.  There’s something about it that sort of captures your attention.

Scotty says that it looks like this guys is thinking about his next gym workout!

Scotty says that it looks like this guys is thinking about his next gym workout!

But the Thinker was just one of the many reasons to visit Musée Rodin.  Here’s a few others:

The Kiss - so beautiful in person.

The Kiss - so beautiful in person.

The Hand of God

The Hand of God

Victor Hugo - modeled from sketches that Rodin took covertly while visiting the great author.  He would watch Hugo, scratch out sketches on cigarette papers and then rush home to his studio to work.

Victor Hugo - modeled from sketches that Rodin took covertly while visiting the great author. He would watch Hugo, scratch out sketches on cigarette papers and then rush home to his studio to work.

This one is actually my favorite...

This one is actually my favorite...

The gardens - gorgeous and scattered throughout with beautiful Rodin sculptures.

The gardens - gorgeous and scattered throughout with beautiful Rodin sculptures.

The Gates of Hell

The Gates of Hell

The Rose Garden is amazing!  All sorts of different varieties.

The Rose Garden is amazing! All sorts of different varieties.

So graceful...

So graceful...

Two Nymphs Playing - this wasn't one of my favorites but I loved how Rodin carved the stone so thinly that the light shines through, illuminating the outlines of the nymphs.

Two Nymphs Playing - this wasn't one of my favorites but I loved how Rodin carved the stone so thinly that the light shines through, illuminating the outlines of the nymphs.

I couldn’t resist taking pictures of some of the roses in the gardens and even though this entry is a long one, I’m going to add some of these:

Gorgeous Coral-colored Rose

Gorgeous Coral-colored Rose

This pink makes me think of my Grandma Jeannie because pink has always been her favorite color.

This pink makes me think of my Grandma Jeannie because pink has always been her favorite color.

Rose bed bordered by boxwoods.

Rose bed bordered by boxwoods.

It had been drizzling on an off this afternoon so all the roses were dotted with little drops.

It had been drizzling on an off this afternoon so all the roses were dotted with little drops.

Perfection

Perfection

And scattered through out these gorgeous flowers, boxwood hedges, and green lawns are more works of art.  It really is such a beautiful place to spend an afternoon.  There is a cafe where you can get coffee or lunch and I will definitely be returning whenever I’m next in this amazing city.

Looking back toward the museum from one of the gardens.

Looking back toward the museum from one of the gardens.

One of the treed walkways.

One of the treed walkways.

Beautiful shrubbery arches

Beautiful shrubbery arches

Musee Rodin

Musée Rodin

Looking towards Invalides

Looking towards Invalides

Victor Hugo

Victor Hugo

Scotty and VIctor "high-fiving"

Scotty and VIctor "high-fiving"

Enjoying the garden

Enjoying the garden

Idyllic

Idyllic

And in the midst of all this beauty, we also saw something I found to be really surprising.  There were these large evergreen plants and following the rain some snails had decided to climb up them.

Little snail somehow making it's way up the prickly side of this huge bush.

Little snail somehow making it's way up the prickly side of this huge bush.

And it had made some serious headway – it had climbed at least six feet up the plant.

You can just see the little guy at the end of the sentence I typed onto the photo!

You can just see the little guy at the end of the sentence I typed onto the photo!

While we were quite taken with this special place, not everyone who visited was as enthralled.  On our way out we stopped by the guest book and spotted this:

"I think it was too much.  I am 7 years old.  Sophia"

"I think it was too much. I am 7 years old. Sophia"

I love the crossed out “g” replaced by the “k” and her adorable little signature!  And the fact that she knew it would be helpful to the reader if they were informed of her age.  So sweet!

Anyway, we had a wonderful time at Musée Rodin and I would highly recommend that anyone visiting Paris carve out a few hours to spend here!  After this we made our way home but the evening was so gorgeous we were soon out and about again.  And that will make up entry part III!  Yes, it was a long, but wonderful, day.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Art, Museums, Paris, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I think this may have been my favorite day…(Part II)

  1. POP says:

    Just another reason for us all to sign up for a trip to Paris. Thanks for the pulchritudinous photos. They are prime photos of exceptional art. You make me feel like I’m in your company enjoying them with you! Thanks!

  2. Bethy Manor says:

    Beautiful pics, Becca! I especially liked “The Hand of God” and “The Gates of hell”.

  3. Pingback: Rodin and Napoleon | Paris at my doorstep

Leave a Reply

