In Chautauqua


Scotty and I made it to NY.  It was a long day that involved our flight from Edinburgh to Newark followed by a 7 hour layover in the Newark Airport.  We thought it would be a good idea to go into New York city but after checking into it, it wasn’t such a great idea.  If we’d flown into JFK it may have worked but the trip into the city from Newark is too long, expensive, and complicated.  So we went outside to escape the constant FAA announcements on telling us to “monitor our baggage closely” and the annoying flight announcements.  I tried to take a nap on a park bench as I’d only had about 3 hours of sleep the night before.  We finally got on our second flight at 9:15, arrived in Buffalo around 10:30 and were in Chautauqua by around 12:30AM – which was 6:30AM Edinburgh time.  I was shattered and Scotty was too.

Since then we’ve gotten caught up on our sleep, enjoyed family time and I’ve had some time to blog.  So here’s the last of the Paris entries:

July 27, Oh no!

July 28, Lunch on a river boat

July 29, Paris Plages and Notre Dame

July 30, Last evening in Paris

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Back in the States, Family, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Chautauqua

  1. Katie says:

    long day! glad you made it safe and sound 🙂

  2. POP says:

    Welcome home! ….. to the home of the scared and the land of the broke.
    I know, I’ve been spending way too much time in the N.Y.Times. On second thought ‘scared and broke’ that IS the Times, isn’t it? Too bad I really do love their travel section.

  3. Diahn says:

    Glad you made the journey safely, if not quickly!

Leave a Reply

