Festival


Well, as Derek helpfully pointed out on my Facebook wall, I succeeded in jinxing the weather in my last post.  When one has lived in Edinburgh for long enough to appreciate each ray of sunlight, it is easy to get all sorts of suspicious notions in one’s head concerning the meteorology of this place.  I really should have known that a post that expressed some iota of hopefulness in regards to regular appearances by our reclusive but well-loved friend, the Sun would quickly send her scurrying behind the nearest cloud cover.  Ah well.  This town still provides enough color on its own, especially this time of year.

Not to sound jaded or anything, but Edinburgh is a zoo in August.  I really don’t get it.  I have trolled the catalogs listing the shows being offered.  I have read the numerous flyers shoved at me.  I have browsed the website.  Only to reach the conclusion that most of this stuff is absolute bangers and mash.  (Short aside: I’ve only recently been introduced to Cockney rhyming slang by an English friend and I love it!  “Bangers and mash” is used to refer to trash.  “Chevy Chase” is used instead of face, as in, “He fell on his Chevy Chase.”  Someone who needs to get home to his “trouble and strife” needs to get home to his wife!)  Anyway, there are tons of shows and the streets are filled with people from the Fringe Festival promoting comedies, Shakespearean adaptations, bizarre things.  I took a minute to take a few pictures that will give you an idea of what the Royal Mile looks like in the throes of the Fringe.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Life in Edinburgh, People in Edinburgh, Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Festival

  1. marty says:

    I like this new lingo…’bangers and mash’ = trash, etc. does it always rhyme? I’ll have to try this out in Seattle and see how it’s received…but of course I’ll ask and make sure people ‘get it’ 🙂

    great pics of the festival vibrance!

    love you guys

Leave a Reply

