Portobello


There is an area in Edinburgh known as Portobello and I’ve been wanting to get down there.  I was provided with the perfect excuse when my friend Katie decided to rent a table at a craft fair and sell her cards.  I love her stuff so I headed down there with Ashli with plans to check out Katie’s cards and explore Portobello.

Katie’s table was chock-full of beautiful hand-made cards and I picked up a couple.  As all three of us are expats who blog about our experiences over here, we had to document the moment, so here’s a picture of the three of us at the craft fair.

Ashli, me, and Katie

Ashli, me, and Katie

Afterward, Ashli and I headed to the beach!  Yes, Portobello is a beach area with a “promenade” and broad, open beaches.  Too bad it’s never warm enough to really want to take a dip.

Pretty gorgeous, huh?

Pretty gorgeous, huh?

We had lunch at an adorable little place called The Beach House.

The Beach House - note the little sailboat!

The Beach House - note the little sailboat!

Outside the restaurant.

Outside the restaurant.

Following lunch, we walked the Promenade, a beachwalk that has seen better days.

Of course, a Promenade in the UK is not complete without an arcade.

Of course, a Promenade in the UK is not complete without an arcade.

But the beach was beautiful, the sun shining and the wind blowing clouds swiftly across the sky.

IMG_4790

IMG_4804

Perfect kite-flying weather

Perfect kite-flying weather

We walked down the beach and made our way back into town via a little creek that was choked with seaweed.

Such an amazing shade of green...I know this is actually a sign that the creek is not healthy, but I'm still fascinated.

Such an amazing shade of green...I know this is actually a sign that the creek is not healthy, but I'm still fascinated.

Having spent the afternoon in Portobello, we headed our separate ways in order to collect our husbands and head to a going away party for our friends Anton and Willemieke.  Having completed their Masters degrees they’re headed back to the Netherlands and will be missed by everyone! We’re hoping to visit them next Spring at their new home in Leyden, a place I’ve wanted to visit since I was about six and first learned about the Pilgrims pleasant time in that hospitable town.  At the party we were able to see friends we hadn’t reconnected with since getting back and it was good to be able to all hang out as a group.

Grillmaster Anton - cooking up some delicious burgers.

Grillmaster Anton - cooking up some delicious burgers.

Steve, Yva, their kids Jona and Leah with Willemeike and Anton.

Steve, Yva, their kids Jona and Leah with Willemieke and Anton.

Anton, Sean, and Scotty

Anton, Sean, and Scotty

Derek, Anton, Willemeike and Katie

Derek, Anton, Willemieke and Katie

Matt, Ashli, me, Willemieke, Leah, Aletheia, Sean, Anton, and Scotty

Matt, Ashli, me, Willemieke, Leah, Aletheia, Sean, Anton, and Scotty

Leah showing off the candy she scored at the party!

Leah showing off the candy she scored at the party!

On our way back from the party we hit it just right to see the fireworks from the Edinburgh Tattoo!  They were gorgeous and the perfect way to end a really fun day.

Fireworks above the castle

Fireworks above the castle

I think Scotty did a fantastic job of getting this photos!

I think Scotty did a fantastic job of getting this photos!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Portobello

  1. POP says:

    Hey Becca I think you found the perfect ‘Berg family vacation beach’ that I’ve been looking for the past several weeks. Who’s to know that it was in your backyard!….. we’ll all come over there rather than vice versa.
    POP
    ps…where did you and Scotty pick up those tans?

  2. Ashli says:

    I’m so behind on blogging … but with posts like this, why should I even try to catch up? You document everything so beautifully! For years to come, I should just refer back to your blog for what our life was once like 🙂

    PS- I think Scotty has a talent for taking pictures of fireworks. A new calling in life???

  3. Katie says:

    I agree- great photos of the fireworks!!

Leave a Reply

