In a soupy situation


I had a dismal kitchen failure the other day.  Dismal.  And to make it worse it was a lot of work and effort and I was really excited about my “great idea.”  I decided to make asparagus soup.  I love this little green veggie.  It tastes like Spring to me and I had been saving the scraps from what I’d cooked throughout the summer.  My freezer was stocked with all those broken off stems and I was set to go.

So I chopped onions, peppers, celery, carrots, leeks.  And that’s a lot of chopping to do.

Chopped Onions

Chopped Onions

Chopped Peppers

Chopped Peppers

Chopped Carrots and Celery

Chopped Carrots and Celery

Chopped Leeks

Chopped Leeks

I sautéd and simmered and chopped – the whole time thinking about how delicious this was going to be, and, I’m ashamed to admit, how smart of me it was to save all this precious asparagus.  I wondered why I’d never had a good asparagus soup, but the thought didn’t even enter my mind that making good asparagus soup is probably very difficult.

I got the stock going and it was pretty good.  Nice and flavorful.

I added my carefully trimmed asparagus (almost 5 cups of it!) and let it slowly simmer so that it softened before I blended.

Adding my precious asparagus.

Adding my precious asparagus.

Well, once everything looked nice and soft I pulled out my immersion blender and got to work.  As I worked my way through the veggies the soup took on a less than appetizing color and texture.  And my blender was splattering everywhere.  I mean everywhere.  My stove backsplash was thoroughly covered.  My canister of cooking utensils was a mess.  The bottles of oil,vinegar, soy, etc., that I keep next to the stove were spattered with the gross mix.  And I was just thankful I was wearing one of Scotty’s huge fleeces because otherwise I would have been a mess.

Just a little sampling of the mess I made.

Just a little sampling of the mess I made.

And was it all worth it?  No.  The soup was inedible.  It resembled something that anyone who has spent a good amount of time with a newborn is very familiar with.  It smelled bad.  It was sweet – which I thought was really strange.  And the worse part, it had all these stiff asparagus strings.  Imagine eating a thick mush that is punctuated with stiff bits of straw.  Disgusting.

Blech.

Blech.

I guess that that is part of being an experimental cook who resists recipes.  You have failures.  Usually they’re edible and you can do something to save all that work.  Other times (like this one) you just have to laugh, send a text to your husband that reads something like this: “Soup a complete failure.  It’s disgusting and looks like puke.  Waaaa.  Leftovers OK?”  And then you set the mush aside, wipe up the mess, and dig into leftover pizza.  Anyway, I thought I’d share this little moment of culinary failure.  And let you know that I am turning to recipes.  Something I really don’t like.  I am doing this because I am going to teach myself how to cook middle eastern food.  I’m really excited and already have some recipes to share.  In the mean time, anyone have some tips for making a delicious, creamy, smooth asparagus soup?

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In a soupy situation

  1. Karin says:

    Hysterical. I’ve also had my own soup failures (but I used a recipe) so it was definitely a case of user error. Soup is A LOT of work, but I sure do love me some Turkish Lentil Soup.

    The part about Scotty’s huge fleece made me laugh out loud. Right out loud.

    And I’m so glad you’ll start making middle eastern food! I LOVE middle eastern food! Share your “recipes”!!!!

  2. Ashli says:

    So that’s what baby pooh looks like. Now I know.

  3. Hilary says:

    Oh, Becca that was too funny!! At least you actually try to be creative in the kitchen, unlike your little sister:) On another high note, you got to practice your chopping skills with your new knife! I’m surprised you have not posted about your new knife and how it has changed your life.

  4. Bethy Manor says:

    Reminds me of “Julia and Julie”. Don’t be too discouraged, Bec. You truly are a great cook. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

