My New Toy


Oh baby...

Oh baby...

When I was visiting Hilary in Portland we were walking around one of those new shopping areas that is outdoors and has all the shops you would expect – Banana, Apple, Crate and Barrel, etc.  My dad was with us and as we walked by the Apple store I mentioned that my iPod had stopped working.  My dad chimed in and offered to buy me a new one – which I thought was really generous and sweet.  So we walked into the Apple store (seductive place that it is) and I was looking at all those beautiful little brightly colored mp3 players when it hit me that I really didn’t want another iPod.  I wanted a knife.  So I told my dad that I’d rather have a good knife so we headed over to Crate and Barrel and I picked up a knife I’ve been lusting after for too long.  And now this tough little guy has changed my cooking experience.  The Wustof Santoku is amazing!

It chops fresh herbs like a pro, as seen above.   I’ve chopped up a whole chicken with it.

Poor little chicken before I got to it with my trusty knife.

Poor little chicken before I got to it with my knife.

IMG_5010

Little chicken is now 8 edible pieces.

Made perfect eggplant slices for moussaka.

IMG_4774

Recipe to come...lots of work but so worth it.

And breezily chopped through several chocolate bars with pretty much no effort.

Chocolate for Pioneer Woman's Pot de Creme...but don't use milk chocolate.  It won't set.  Stick with chocolate chips.

Mmmm - yummy.

This gorgeous piece of steel is my new favorite object.  I love that each time I use it I think of my visit out to Portland and the good time I had with Pop, Hil, Solomon, Josh, Tot, Jimmy, and Ashton.  And it makes cooking so much more enjoyable.  The only problem is now I really know how dull my Ikea knives really are…and that Wustof paring knife is now calling my name.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My New Toy

  1. Ashli says:

    I’m a big fan of your new toy, too!

  2. Hilary says:

    Yay! I knife post, very fun. I’m glad you think of your time here when you use it. I am still very excited that you have a high quality knife. If anyone deserves it, it is you!

  3. Katie says:

    mmm…we may have to invite ourselves over for moussaka sometime! 🙂 We had it when we were in Greece but yours actually looks even better!

  4. Katie says:

    P.S. were you shopping at Bridgeport?? Love it!

Leave a Reply

