Two whole years…


September 2007 - our first hike up Arthur's Seat

September 2007 - our first hike up Arthur's Seat

Yesterday a friend of ours arrived from St. Louis with her husband who is going to be studying at New College this year!  We’ll be meeting up with them for lunch and are excited to show them around.  Knowing that they arrived yesterday got me thinking and wondering what day we arrived here in 2007.  So I checked out the old blog and lo and behold!  We got here September 9, 2007!  It’s been two years and we are now embarking on our third.  It’s so hard to believe!  It’s also exciting to be beginning a new year.  There is much I’m looking forward to – new projects to work on, possible opportunities to become more involved in the community, friendships that are growing.  I am also more prepared for the difficulties I know I will face.  There will be those days when the rain is pelting you in the face and you’re struggling to understand why a certain bureaucrat is being so difficult and you’re blowing your nose because you’re sick (again!).  I know those days will come but they are no longer the sum total of my experience here.  I also know that Edinburgh is amazing when the sun is shining and I should take hold of those fleeting hours.  I’ll get to know my friends more and our community will strengthen and grow.  Scotty will have days where he’s really excited about his topic and the reading and writing flows.  He’ll also have really frustrating and discouraging days where he’ll feel like he’s running mental circles around a certain subject and is just not able to pin it down.  As Edinburgh begins to feel more like home it’s feeling less like a challenge that needs to be overcome.  It’s the backdrop to our lives – and it shapes and colors our experiences.  When I first arrived I was taken by the beauty of this city and then the shine wore off and I seriously began to look at this place as a purgatory to be survived until we could move on to greener pastures.  Now that we’ve been able to define our experience more on our own terms I no longer see Edinburgh that way.  It, just like any other place, has its challenges but it is also a great place to be – a place where Scotty and I have grown together, overcome difficulties, shared good laughs and memories, and learned more about ourselves, each other and the world.  It’s been a very full two years and I’m excited to see what the third has for us.  And when I’m griping about the weather come January, would you all remind me of this?  Thanks!

Little ol' us back in 2007

Little ol' us back in 2007

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Life in Edinburgh, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two whole years…

  1. Ashli says:

    Haha … I’ll remind you if you promise to remind me!

  2. Karin says:

    Awww, Arthur’s Seat! I remember climbing that but somehow missing the path and charting my own way up the steep rocky side. I’m sooo not cut out for the outdoors.

  3. POP says:

    What a nice synopsis. A very healthy way of looking at things. You two have packed a lot of living in two years. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

