Rewind…again…


It’s been so busy since we returned that our summer trip to the States has been sort of a hazy blur lingering in the back of my mind.  Scotty and I were able to spend a week in Chautauqua visiting his family and one evening we had dinner over at Mimi’s house.  Mimi is Scotty’s grandmother and she lives in this great old house that her husband built.  It’s rambling, filled with interesting corners hosting odds and ends from over eighty years of living.  I wanted to take pictures of the American flag cups, the musket hanging over the kitchen door, the Japanese silk prints hanging in the living room, and a dozen other spots but never had time.  I was able to take some pictures of the outside though.  Tell me that this isn’t the perfect summer cottage.

Detail of window shutter - which provides a winter home for friendly bats.

Detail of window shutter - which provides a winter home for friendly bats.

Classic Americana

Classic Americana

Mimi's Home

The Cottage - on the left is one of the apple trees that produces every two years. Mimi makes the best applesauce from those apples!

The Kitchen Window

Firewood Stacked up for Winter

Firewood Stacked up for Winter

Dinner on the patio.  Clockwise from bottom-left: Aunt Judy, Tim, Marty, Mimi, Beth, Uncle Noel, Scotty, and Laura

Dinner on the patio. Clockwise from bottom-left: Aunt Judy, Tim, Marty, Mimi, Beth, Uncle Noel, Scotty, and Laura

And the following picture of Mimi’s red wheelbarrow always brings William Carlos Williams to mind – I love his poems.

so much depends upon a red wheel barrow glazed with rain water beside the white chickens.

So much depends....

The Red Wheelbarrow

by William Carlos Williams

so much depends
upon
a red wheel
barrow
glazed with rain
water
beside the white
chickens.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Back in the States, Family, photography, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rewind…again…

  1. Ashli says:

    I could just eat it up it’s so cute!

  2. Bethy Manor says:

    I’m glad to see that Mimi’s house and wheelbarrow made it to your blog, Becca. She would be so pleased as am I….

  3. POP says:

    Looks like the ideal cottage conducive to memorable summer living. I love all the green color everywhere. I’d have fun in that yard. Good picture of the fam too!

Leave a Reply

