Crisp


A chill has set in here.  The air is crisp and scented with wood smoke.  Fires are burning in the hearths of our little village.  Fall is in the air.  We’ve resisted turning on the heat and still leave our windows cracked so the fresh air can waft through, but we are definitely feeling autumn’s approach.  And I love it.  Even though I know we’re in for another long Scottish winter, I still love fall.  The crunch of leaves.  The smell of fires.  The bite in the air.  Especially on days like today when the sun is shining and you feel the temperature change as you walk out of the shade.  For some reason the approach of fall always has me wanting to go pick up some tweedy jacket, wool pants, boots, a down vest, some wellies, a bright knit cap.  Maybe it’s the tradition of new clothes for school but I did some internet (window) shopping…well, browsing.  I thought I’d share a few of the things that have caught my eye because I think they’re great items (several homemade) that anyone may enjoy.  If you want to find out more about each item, just click on the picture – I’ve linked them directly.  I’ve pulled from the wonderful etsy (home of all things homemade), and some of my other favorites.

Classic Hunter Wellies
Classic Hunter Wellies

I know I’ve lived in the UK for a while now ’cause I am loving these classics.  Paired with a cute skirt – quintessentially British.

Puffer Vest
Puffer Vest

I am wearing my down vest way too much lately.  It’s the perfect clothing item for this time of year as I never know when the sun will pop out and warm things up.  Just warm enough to keep off the chill but adaptable to the constantly shifting temps.

The perfect tweedy blazer
The perfect tweedy blazer

And what you can’t see from the picture above is the pink silk lining under the collar – love a bit of whimsy.

Fingerless gloves on etsy
Fingerless gloves on etsy

My friend Julie introduced me to fingerless gloves last winter and I love them!  So cozy, a little funky, and you can still select the next tune on your ipod.  I like the gray but I’d probably want these in something brighter to add a pop of color – maybe red or green?  What color would you want them in?  Great thing about etsy – you can contact the seller directly and custom order the pair that would be perfectly fit for you!

Cozy blanket for a fall picnic.
Cozy blanket for a fall picnic.

Isn’t this wool blanket gorgeous?  Handmade right here in the UK.  I love the play between the masculine gray wool and the delicate lace edge – which has been hand-crocheted.  Add rain outside, hot tea, book, and fire, and you pretty much have the perfect afternoon.  I know…it’s the most cliched idea of the perfect afternoon…but you know you’re tempted.

il_430xN.91159050
Boston Beanies Knit Teddy Bear Hat

How adorable is this? I can think of at least 4 little kids who would look adorable in this!

I’ve never done an entry like this but it’s been fun for me.  I hope you enjoyed it.  What are you favorite things about fall?  Anything you’ve got your eye on?

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crisp

  1. Lizzabean says:

    LOVE this post and the beautiful things in it!

  2. Hilary says:

    Such fun stuff!!! Thanks for sharing:)

  3. POP says:

    Ahhhh Beca you touch all those great memories and sentimental feelings of that first touch of THE season. Thanks for the reminder for all of us in non-season land.

  4. valcitygal says:

    Wonderful post. Tea, book, fire – I want it all! Yes, the fingerless gloves too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

