Still feeling fallish


I’m still enamored with these first days of fall.  Scotty and I have pulled out the flannel sheets in an attempt to stay off turning on the heat.  Let me tell you that our cool-looking slate floors are not a great thing to tiptoe across barefoot these days.  But I’m loving it.  Some of the leaves are starting to change and I’ve pulled out my favorite chunky white scarf kindly knitted for my by my friend Sloane.  This scarf has seen me through quite a few winters at this point and I love it.

Life here has been busy, busy, busy.  Scotty begins tutoring today and is plugging away at the first chapter of his dissertation.  His introduction is finished and he’s hoping to finish up Chapter 1 by the end of October.  WooHoo!  Chapters 2 and 3 are going to be a ton of work and will probably take an entire year to write but it’s so exciting watching him get underway!  I’ve been busy with lots of cooking and having friends over, job hunting, ladies teas, and book clubs.  Ashli and I are trying to get some things going for the new wives at New College.  There is nothing for the wives of post-grads and Ashli and I definitely remember what it felt like to arrive here and look for jobs and try to find a niche.  We had so many questions and there was absolutely no one available to answer them or give us advice on how to get settled.  So we’re trying to put together a group that will connect with the new wives and help them in this process.  Hopefully it is something that will live on and prove useful.  We had a tea on Tuesday that was a lot of fun.  This incoming group of women is great!  One is a pilot, another a bio statistician, another came here from Denmark after ministering at a church with her husband.  They’re all Americans (surprise, surprise) and I’m excited to get to know them more.

I’m also getting involved in two book clubs – something I absolutely love.  One is with women that I know well at this point and another is with strangers.  I’m excited about the possibilities of the second book club in introducing me to titles and authors I would have normally overlooked.  Plus it’s hosted by a lovely woman who owns a great tea shop and we’ll be tasting different teas each month!  How fun is that?

So in the midst of all the hustle and bustle, I haven’t taken very many pictures but I did snap this one while I was running an errand yesterday.  It’s of one of the local private high schools – Fettes College.  To me it has a classic British back-to-school feeling.  Can you imagine going to school in a building like this?

IMG_5422-1

Hogwarts anyone?

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Life in Edinburgh. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still feeling fallish

  1. Sloane says:

    I was totally going to say that the school reminded me of Harry Potter..before I read your caption! We are so cosmically linked. Deep. 🙂 I miss you! I wish we could enjoy all the great fall traditions together.

Leave a Reply

