Spotted on the way home…


Sunset over the Dean Gallery

Sunset over the Dean Gallery

This sunset was so gorgeous I had to stop on the way home last night, dig my camera out of the depths of my bag, and snap a few shots.  I loved how in the midst of a cloudy, gray sky there was this incredibly vibrant show of sunlight.  In fact it illustrates one of the things that I’ve come to recognize here in Scotland.  While a dramatic sunset over a cloudless horizon has its own beauty, the most breathtaking sunsets require clouds: the interplay of light and dark, the way the edges of clouds become gilded, the rays breaking through.

Brilliant

Brilliant

I love Scottish sunsets.  And I’m really looking forward to this weekend.  Saturday and Sunday are “Doors Open” days.  This means that buildings normally closed to the public will be opening their doors.  Other places that are open to the public but charge admission will be free.  I am excited to climb the Nelson Monument on Carlton Hill, peek into St. Bernard’s Well, tour Drumsheugh Bath’s Club, visit Lauriston Castle, and get to know my city a little better.  I’m sure we’ll be dodging rain showers and crowds, but it should be a fun day.  If we were back in St. Louis, I’m pretty sure we’d be visiting an apple farm and going pumpkin picking – really getting into the fall spirit.  If anyone is doing that, will you enjoy a caramel apple for me?  What do you have planned for your weekend?

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Exploring Scotland, Life in Edinburgh, photography. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spotted on the way home…

  1. Rea Berg says:

    Those pictures are stunning and how I wish I could accompany you on your Edinburgh tour! What fun. On another note I have to tell you that the moussaka was unbelievable. We felt like we were eating in a posh restaurant when we sat down and dug into that marvelous dish! (Of course we did have candlelight, music and flowers–you know me!). But honestly I have to thank you for once again expanding our epicurean borders so delightfully. The four of us loved it and I will be making it for special dinners in the future. You were right about the combo of lamb and beef. One thing I blew was I put some of the bechamel sauce in the middle (thinking layers?) and though it was a mistake I think it gave it an extra creamy lusciousness inside as well. Love you!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

