Muffins and Soup


Healthy Banana Nut Muffins

Healthy Banana Nut Muffins

Now that October has officially arrived and I’ve been savoring all things autumnal I find myself being drawn in to the kitchen more and more.  There is something about the change in the air, the smells of fall, the anticipation of changing colors that gets me in the mood for muffins and soup.  I think this happens to me every year and I’m usually cooking up batches of pumpkin muffins, butternut squash soup and other traditional fall treats.  I think that I may have overdone it on those two things in the past because this year I’m more in the mood for kale soups, banana muffins, fresh pepper salads, panzanella salads, and all sorts of other flavors.

We have had a house guest for most of the week and I’m sure he thinks I’m a little crazy – I’ve been getting up in the morning and scouring through the cupboards and making muffins.  Any kind of muffins.  The first day I didn’t have the flour I normally use so they were really mushy.  Yesterday I had pulled a nice hot batch of banana nut muffins out of the oven, placed one on a plate and made my way into the living room.  I was standing there holding the plate when I feel this fluttering sensation on my hand and suddenly this huge moth is flying in my face.  OK – huge may be a bit of an exaggeration, he probably had a wing span of about 3 inches, but when that comes out of nowhere and is flying in your face it’s pretty startling.  So I, completely forgetting that I’m holding a glass plate in my hand, shriek and wave my hand across my face, effectually throwing the plate to the ground where it shattered and my poor muffin ended in a splattered mess.  Seriously, what would you think if you were staying with “the crazy muffin lady”?  Our guest is a new friend and really doesn’t know us from Adam and here I am rummaging around in the kitchen, baking up a storm, and then throwing plates around.  Oh dear.  Thankfully he’s extremely gracious.

Anyway, here’s the recipe for these muffins.  They’re really hearty, yummy and have all sorts of good-for-you stuff in them: oatmeal, yoghurt, coconut oil, nuts.  And they’re super easy.

Banana Nut Muffins

  • ½ cup white flour
  • ½ cup whole wheat flour
  • 2½ teaspoons baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¾ cup oats (quick or regular)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil, melted (if you don’t have coconut oil you can use butter or vegetable oil)
  • ½ cup milk
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 3 tablespoons plain yoghurt
  • 1/3 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts and they were really good)
  • zest from 1 lemon

Preheat oven to 400°F.  Line a muffin tin with paper liners.  Mix together the flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and oats.  In a separate bowl mix the wet ingredients: egg, sugar, coconut oil, milk, bananas and yoghurt.  Add the nuts and lemon zest to the liquid ingredients and fold in the flour mixture until just moist.  Divide the batter into the muffin tin (should make 12).  Bake for approximately 20 minutes.  Serve warm with butter.

They're also good cold the next day...

They're also good cold the next day...

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Muffins and Soup

  1. Bethy Manor says:

    Could I substitute pumpkin for banana, or do you have a pumpkin bread recipe?

    • Rebecca says:

      Hi Bethy. I’m not sure if you could substitute pumpkin or how much you would use. I do have a pumpkin muffin recipe that you could just bake in a loaf. It’s under the “Recipe” tab up on the upper right corner of the blog! Hope that helps.

  2. Melanie says:

    Becca,
    PLEASE don’t tell me you broke one of those beautiful cherished china plates…
    melanie

    • Rebecca says:

      Aww, Melanie. You’re so sweet to ask. No, it was just a plate that I didn’t like to begin with, although I had considered grabbing one of the china plates. So glad I didn’t!

  3. Rea Berg says:

    Ok, so this scene with you rumbling around in the kitchen at early hours reminded me of our house guest in Oxford that was always making a racket in the wee hours! Do you remember how we made the sign banning all fussing in the kitchen before humane hours? That was a great scene–thanks!
    Mom

  4. tot says:

    That is a hilarious story!!!!!!!!! I am going to try to make some this week. they look delicious!!!! i love you and miss you!

Leave a Reply

