Going vintage


Every once in a while I consider going “plastic free” in my kitchen.  Yeah – ridding it of ziploc bags, plastic storage containers, etc. and switching to reusable non-paper towels, glass storage, etc.  In St. Louis I had these great glass storage containers that are now living in a storage unit.  I loved how I didn’t have to worry about toxic chemicals leaching into my leftovers.  I also had glass storage canisters that reduced the amounts of things relegated to plastic bags in the pantry.  Since moving over here my kitchen has reverted back to being a pretty standard, plastic-filled kitchen.  But I do cringe when I’m putting healthy, organic, home-made leftovers into a plastic container.  It just seems so counter-intuitive.  And every once in a while I troll etsy to see all of the great plastic alternatives available.  Here’s a round-up of my latest, no-plastic (and a few others), favorites.  I hope anyone out there who is considering the move to using less plastic finds these helpful.  Not to mention that some of them are just plain cool!  If you’re interested in learning more about the featured products, just click on the picture and you’ll be taken to the appropriate etsy store.

Vintage Cheese Grater

Vintage Cheese Grater

How adorable is this?  Love the color – and the fact that it was originally manufactured in Germany in the 1920s.

Cute Blue Recipe Cards

Cute Blue Recipe Cards

Vintage Rolling PIns

Vintage Rolling PIns

Set of 4 Reusable "Paris" Sandwich Bags

Set of 4 Reusable "Paris" Sandwich Bags

Antique Glass Storage Container

Antique Glass Storage Container

Cute enamel pot

Cute enamel pot

Original Glass Baster from the 1920s - in it's original box!

Original Glass Baster from the 1920s - in it's original box!

Antique Lemon Juice Extractor

Antique Lemon Juice Extractor made from Depression Glass

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Etsy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Going vintage

  1. Hi Rebecca! I follow your blog and couldn’t help but comment on this post:-) I think getting rid of plastic is a great achievement for anyone! I am still weeding a little out but switched to cloth napkins/towels in the kitchen for our family over a year ago. I LOVE it!! Would never go back. Evelyn Fields snack bags are a staple in our house as well. They are perfect for snacks (of course) on the go and in my boys’ lunch box.
    What we do without Etsy? Love the site, totally addicted:)

    • Rebecca says:

      Hey Bobbi! So fun to hear from you! Your family is beautiful! I’m looking forward to going “plastic-free” and am working toward that goal. I think it will be easier once I’m back in the States and can purchase items I want to hold on to. At this point I’m just trying to make wise decisions about what I do use and found the things on Evelyn Fields very inspiring. If you have any tips, please feel free to share! Thanks again for reading.

  2. Kent says:

    A friend sent me a link to your site. Love the article, however I would think that going vintage totally may not necessarily be good for you. As I looked at a few of the pictures (cheese grater and rolling pins) I wondered if the paint or other components on them contained lead. The glass stuff looks great and I can totally see the point of not using plastic for storage of things in the kitchen. One thing we have used is glass jars that we buy food in. (Example would be a 1 Litre glass bottle that V8 juice comes in.) They can be very handy for storing a variety of things in the pantry and the fridge.

    • Rebecca says:

      Hi Kent,
      Thanks for the comment. I look forward to checking out your blog – it looks like your family is in the midst of a great adventure. Thank you also for the heads-up on my entry. I had checked out the glass and it seemed alright but completely forgot to think about lead content in the paint. You’re right – if I did find a vintage cheese grater it would probably be wise to scrape it down and re-paint with food-grade paint. I am trying to collect any glass containers that pop up in my shopping and like the fact that I’m throwing/recycling less stuff by actually repurposing it. Out of curiosity, would you mind letting me know who shared the link? It is so kind of people to do that, I would like to pass on my thanks. Thank you again for stopping by. Have a good day!

Leave a Reply

