The strangeness of time


Fall Colors

Fall Colors

Time is such a fascinating concept to me.  The linear way in which we measure time, it seems to me, doesn’t quite correlate to the way I remember time.  The past two months have been so busy for Scotty and I (new jobs, guests, school work, projects, active calendars) that the weeks literally feel like they’re zipping by.  Yet when I think about an event that occurred this past weekend, it feels like ages ago.  Time seems very elastic to me – but that’s just a feeling.  Anyway, to do some housework on this blog, here’s what Scotty and I have been up to.  Scotty is busy plugging away at his dissertation.  He’s making good headway and is half-way done with his first Chapter.  Some days of work are better than others, but overall he would say he is really enjoying his research.  The two of us are trying to get more involved in our church and have signed up for a course with some other couples.  So far we’re really enjoying it and it’s been fun to get to know some locals.  I’ve also picked up a couple of part-time jobs that I’m enjoying.  In a strange twist, I worked three days at one job last week and was then called to a staff meeting at the beginning of this week.  At the staff meeting it was announced that the place I was JUST hired at would be closing at a near, but undetermined, date.  As it’s a small family company, I could see that this was really difficult for the people who had been involved in the company for the past several years.  So I was really sad for them.  On the other hand, I felt a bit bewildered that they would hire me and schedule me for the next month when they’re going to be closing soon.  We’ll see how long this job lasts and while I still have it, I’m enjoying it and learning some interesting things.  As to my other project, I’ve still been cooking Turkish food, but haven’t had the time to post the recipes.  I’m hoping to get caught up on that over the coming weekend.  I have some great recipes I’m anxious to share with you – one that is perfect for staying healthy during flu season.  I’m calling it “Better than Chicken Soup.”  So that’s a quick update.  Here’s some pics from our life recently:

Last Saturday we got to hang out with these two little monkeys:

These two love to climb.  It's so cute.

These two love to climb. It's so cute.

Cute, huh?

Cute, huh?

Putting on a brave face after a fall at the play ground.

Putting on a brave face after a fall at the play ground.

The fall colors aren't all that exciting this year, due to a very damp summer, but they're still pretty.

The fall colors aren't all that exciting this year, due to a very damp summer, but they're still pretty.

I love how those little orange flowers look like miniature jack-o-lanterns in the grave yard.

I love how those little orange flowers look like miniature jack-o-lanterns in the grave yard.

Some color in the Prince's Street Gardens

Some color in the Prince's Street Gardens

Oh yeah.  I almost forgot.  If you’re wanting to bake a fun fall treat.  Make my Pumpkin Spice Muffins but skip the sugar topping and only add 1/2 cup sugar to the batter.  Then throw in 1 cup of chocolate chips.  Absolutely delicious.  I’ve made these twice and they’re some serious yumminess.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Life in Edinburgh, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The strangeness of time

  1. Leah says:

    I LOVE those pictures of the kids! I know Yve and Steve will too, that was so nice you to watch them, I bet they had a blast! 🙂 Great pictures and post as always, but I do want to continue to see more of your beautiful self on here!(I now know Scotty takes pictures of you, so there is no excuse) 🙂

  2. Karin says:

    I can testify to the amazingness that is the Pumpkin Spice Muffin!!

Leave a Reply

