The Lake District


IMG_6560 by you.

Hello everyone!  I am so sorry about the delay in posting.  I have several posts floating around in my head – most exciting are the posts about our little weekend get-away to the Lake District.  We had a wonderful time and I have lots of photos to share – I think we took around 400 which is complete overkill but should give you an idea of exactly how picturesque a setting we were exploring.  The drive down took us through southern Scotland, the Scottish Borders, past Hadrian’s Wall (which we stopped to see as I was super excited about it), and through northern England into the Lake District.  As the Lake District has such a rich literary history, both being the home to great authors and a popular setting for stories, I was thrilled that we were able to spend a couple of nights there and wander around towns like Windemere, Ableside, Cartmel and drive by lakes named Ullswater, Derwentwater, Grasmere.  It was fun to see where Beatrix Potter and William Wordsworth and Samuel Coleridge were inspired to write.  And before you think this was all high and literary, we also visited the home of Sticky Toffee Pudding – one of the many delicious things we’ve discovered since our arrival in the UK.  We had a great time and I’m anxious to blog about it but there are two problems.  The first is that I’m quite forgetful these days and didn’t bring the photo card that has the vast majority of our photos up to school with me today.  And secondly, we returned from our idyllic weekend away to find that we’d be “burgled.”  Now, I think the word “burgled” is hilarious and it’s fun to use it here.  But it’s not fun being burgled.  Someone slipped the lock on our door and took my laptop (my dear dear macbook) and my ipod.  Thankfully Scotty’s laptop (where his dissertation currently resides) was spared as we had brought it with us.  This basically means that blogging is no longer as convenient as it once was and until I get a replacement there won’t be as many entries.  I will try to keep up with it, but know that I’m simply not going to be able to be as consistent.  Additionally my laptop had all the software I use to blog and tinker with my photos which means that I’m having to learn new programs.  So, I will work on this over the next couple of days and get these entries up, but in the mean time, thanks for sticking with this silly little blog.  And if you happen to see a guy hawking a black mac book at the local pub, please let me know.  I hear that’s where most stolen laptops are sold!  Funny, I would never have thought of going computer shopping at a pub.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh, Exploring the UK, Life in Edinburgh, Mini-break, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Lake District

  1. Sloane says:

    Becca, I’m so sorry you got burgled! I’ve been there….a few times at this point, and it totally sucks. Its so frustrating even though there’s no point in getting frustrated. Grrr! Hope you get a replacement soon! 🙂

  2. POP says:

    1. Let’s pray for the burgler!
    2. Take up a collection to replace Rebecca’s blog machine! If any of you are interested, email me….russell@bfbooks.com
    3. Rebecca will again be able to entertain and enlighten us. (We do want to hear about the Lake District after that intro!)
    4. Then we’ll all be happy again!

  3. oh no becca! that stinks! i’m so sorry 😦

  4. Hilary says:

    Aww, Becca and I so sorry to hear that you were “burgled”. (You are right, that is a funny word.) But I’m sure it does not make the situation any fun. What a shame. Sounds like your trip was amazing! Cant wait to see more pictures and hear about it. Lots of love to you and Scotty. Oh, and by the way, Ashton is HUGE!! Weighing in at a hefty 16 pounds at only 3 and a half months old. Kid looks like a toddler. Take care!

  5. Mandy says:

    If you took 400 photos….I want to see MORE! one just doesnt do it justice! YOu know the Lake District is where I went to bible school and met Chad. Dont know if you were in Carnforth, but Ive visited all that surrounding area and you are right – it is stunning!

    Im so sorry about your Mac!! We had one stolen in Ukraine as well!

  6. Josh says:

    Beautiful pictures Bec, terribly sorry about the burglardization of your apartment. Having things stolen is one of the most frustrating things ever… why is that? You are absolutely right that there is no point to the frustration, but there seems to be this huge gap in understanding people who steal, by being one who does not steal. Strange. Hope you get a replacement soon! Keep posting in the meantime though:)

  7. Rea Berg says:

    Hi Bec,
    I finally figured out how to access the photos on flicker. Stunning! What a magical, enchanted sort of place! From the charming velvety green countryside with siena blue skies to the stone walls, stone towers (that one you captured was right out of a fairy tale) to the handsomest couple ever–I SO want to go! Of course the photos aren’t as much fun without your running commentary, but I can also imagine it. Can’t wait to hear more!
    Love you, Mom
    P.S. I am going to attempt to post your photo
    the really adorable one of you both on facebook, or is that stealing??

Leave a Reply

